Eight Years Ago Today (A Ribbon In The Sky)

We swayed to Stevie Wonder

Like a ribbon in the sky

Under the shade of a huppah

Friends and family 11 wide

We stomped a light bulb together

“Mazel Tov!” in unison

I kissed the prettiest girl in the world

Your drunk uncle: “Get’ er done!”

We ran out high fiving guests

Hand in hand we laughed

Bird seed beamed into my eye

As we scurried down the path

To where an old Ford awaited us

An eventually two perfect boys

An eight years with my best friend

And countless other joys

And I meant it lover girl

When I said I’d love you til I die

And we’ll sway through life together

Like a ribbon in the sky.

Bryan Daniels

 

 

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

2 thoughts on “Eight Years Ago Today (A Ribbon In The Sky)”

Leave a Reply

