3 Reasons You Should Start a Blog

Blog side
The Universal Blog sign for Gangstas like us

It’s hard

If you want a challenge, try finding a coherent writing voice. I am unorganized by nature, and gathering my thoughts to express a logical argument or non belligerent piece of journaling is counter intuitive. My car looks like a teacher’s lounge and coach’s locker room exploded in it. My closet (to my wife’s chagrin) doesn’t look much better.

If a cluttered desk intimates a cluttered mind, then I have a hoarding cat lady with a nutella addiction living in my head.

Blogging helps me focus. Sometimes I’m not sure what I believe about a topic until I endeavor to plot my thoughts and write it down.

It’s hard, yet necessary, as a human with God-given reasoning faculties to sharpen our communication skills. Blogging is one anvil that helps do this.

It’s humbling

Sometimes a personal, more vulnerable, piece is written for the public’s peering eye. Sometimes it’s so close to home it’s like slicing a wrist open and bleeding all over the keyboard. Sometimes the reading public is totally unaffected by this.

That’s humbling. Stats pages, in themselves, can be humbling.

The most thoughtful heart-rending posts garner nary a drizzle. The most trite off the cuff pieces go viral. Ok not really viral, but comparatively shared much more than serious pieces.

In blogging your work is submitted before a great cloud of witnesses, or in some cases “critics”, and that is a constructive thing. Community input keeps you humble and open to others in the world. And we really are writing for the world: Otherwise we wouldn’t be sharing our thoughts with the world-wide web (aka Da Internetz).

It helps

People really are aching to be encouraged, spoken into, and valued by others. A word of gracious affirmation is not the autopilot of our hearts and mouths. Life has a way of punching folks square in the soul. What we write can be the healing balm that alleviates those wounds.

You have a unique God-given voice no one in the world has. You have a circle of entrusted folk around you who would never listen to me, but will give an interested ear to you. Saturate those souls with grace filled words that spurn, engage and fascinate them on this journey.

God ensures that those who bless will in return be blessed. You don’t have to be the next Spurgeon or Twain, just a soul who cares about fellow souls and words.

There’s three reasons you should start a blog (or continue writing one if you’ve already started).

My fellow blogging readership: What’s some other reasons for starting a blog you can offer for prospective bloggers?

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

12 thoughts on “3 Reasons You Should Start a Blog”

  1. I have really been wrestling with these issues and I’m thankful for your post, Bryan. I finally have a minute to sit down and post an real piece and I’m wondering if it’s worth it. Not sure if it is, but I’ll giver ‘er a crack!

    You’ve written me off the ledge. For now. 🙂

  2. I started writing to gather all the crazy thoughts I had about theology and apologetics into coherent articles. I can express myself better through the written word 9 times out of ten. I also wanted to start an apologetics ministry. Mostly it’s just been a theological resource, but i’m slowly starting to actually write apologetic posts now lol

  3. I randomly found your blog and find it very inspiring. I’m on a blog journey myself – mommy-sota.blogspot.com. I’m trying to find my voice and appreciate yours.

  4. Ditto your three reasons. I’ll add that the discipline of posting something twice a week has (I trust) made me a better communicator. Sometimes I wonder why I do it, but then I continue to do it. It’s also a little window into how other people think – always fascinating.

  5. Bryan, a great article. I started blogging to encourage others but found out the most useful reason is to preach myself the gospel. When i put it out there for others, I better be living it myself.

  6. One of my justifications back in 2008 was that much of the internet was populated by garbage. My blog would contribute to the greater good if what I submitted was at least a little better than garbage. Seriously, my goal was to put some truth and substance out there, whether a fan base of followers developed or not.

    Blogging can give anyone a global audience. I have made blog friends in Canada, Israel and Australia that I would never have made contact with otherwise. The same sermons I preach to a few dozen people in person are read in dozens of countries which I will never visit personally.

Leave a Reply

