Murdered by A Hot Tub….

Around my freshmen year in college I found myself in a hot tub full of dudes. Wait, it’s not as bad as it sounds. We were all good friends, and the hot tub was at a friend’s house. We talked smack about work, girls and church for an hour or so. Other than watching Real World reruns on MTV I had almost zero hot tub experience.

Hot tub

It was a humid Florida summer night.

Most of my friends were in and out. I sat submerged shoulder-high for an hour straight. Slow boiling like a frog on a stove top pot. My body temp rose. I was sweating more than John Hagee in a Middle Eastern sauna.

I started feeling light-headed shortly after getting out. My light headedness spread to weaken the rest of my body. I stumbled inside the house like a drunk zombie. I criss crossed to the kitchen, muttering the same three words over again, “I need water, I need water, I need…..”

I couldn’t make it to the sink, my world went black and my head hit the kitchen wall. My friends caught me and ushered me to the living room couch. I had no power bars left. All I could say in my waning haze now was, “Jesus…Jesus…Jesus…”

I was sure I was dying.

Even more sure than the one time I got caught fighting a Panama City Beach rip tide and muttered my last rites in waist deep water.

“Bryan Daniels-Death by Hot Tub”

the obituary would read. I always wanted to go out a little more hardcore than that. A Bonnie and Clyde blaze of glory was more gangsta than getting murdered by a bubbly Country Club toy.

One friend, quick of mind, poured a bottle of water down my throat. Boom. Instant life spread through out my body. After a minute I came to my senses. Miracle Water. Precious life giving miracle water.

In our dying.

In our inescaple thirst.

In our stumbling and mumbling and running headlong into unforgivable walls.

Jesus is right there.

Living Water is there (John 4:10)

Poured lavishly in and on us forevermore. When our short life seems to be coming to an anticlimactic close we never would have planned. When our world seems to be spinning out of control God’s grip on the situation is even tighter.

Beware of the Hot Tub.

But that undeniable thirst deep in our soul can be quenched. The insatiably unsatisfied can be filled.

By one who gives it freely only to the dying desert travelers….and some times, hot tub dwellers.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

8 thoughts on “Murdered by A Hot Tub….”

  1. Good post but LOL @ the uttering your last rites in waist deep water. As a little boy I got entirely submerged, taken by a riptide skidding and pasted flat against the bottom, was kept under for almost a minute, and got spit out way down far from where my parents were. I was 100% certain I was going to die, but the tide spit me back out! I walked back in a daze (my parents had no idea until I told them later), sat down and hugged my legs…and cried. lol.

    1. Ha, pretty crazy! Yeah I was eighteen when it happened to me. Just kept trudging head long (totally wrong I know) for a few minutes unti I crawled to shore and collapsed for a bit in a full body cramp…

Leave a Reply

