First Bible: Like A Kid On Christmas Morning

When I first saw this short video I can neither confirm nor deny that I may or may not have cried like a slapped baby during it…purportedly.

Under strict government constraints, the word is a precious treasure to Chinese Christians. They’re like gleeful kids on Christmas morning. Some are well into their forties and fifties until they’ve personally cradled their own Bible. Many more will never own their own Bible.

Even the smell of a Bible is a beautiful fragrance to them.

I have numerous misplaced Bibles loitering in my back seat, under couches, and stuck to book shelves like an ignored relic. I won’t skip a physical meal but I will neglect the nourishment of my soul with passive procrastination for days.

These Chinese souls have really grasped Psalm 119 in experiential ways that make me jealous (Psalm 119:11, 14, 24, 47).

God bless them.

God help me.

Go to this ministry and donate five bucks to help more Chinese believers experience this unfettered joy: Bibles for China.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

8 thoughts on “First Bible: Like A Kid On Christmas Morning”

  1. Likewise, imagine what Richard Wurmbrand would have given while he rotted in those prison cells, digging up out of the depths of his memory what he could of Scripture…

  2. Bryan, Thank you for posting this. Holy moment—what a beautiful holy moment.

    Can I just sit here and let my heart open up in thanks as a heart that knows how sweet Gods word is. May we gain a heart that meets His word with a Holy kiss. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

