My Family Crest Can Beat Up Your Family Crest (Unicorn!)

In yesterday’s post I mentioned my Scots-Irish ancestry. After a little prompting from a friend over Facebook about the origin of my family name, “Daniels”, I was pointed towards my Scottish family crest. What I saw delighted me. Behold it in all its glory:

Daniels Family Crest (Glory of the Unicorn)

That’s right.

Look closely to the top center and you will see a certain magical horned creature: The Unicorn. Forget majestic horses or roaring lions or mauling bears. That ancient squirrelly Daniels clan went all out and one upped every other family crest. Nothing strikes fear in the hearts of your enemies like a prancing unicorn. True warriors are we.

William Wallace would be proud.

My family motto is better than yours too.

The Latin words “Nec Timeo Nec Sperno” mean, “I neither fear nor despise.” And I can totally relate. What is there to fear or hate when you’re riding on the bare back of a freakin’ unicorn?! Doesn’t get much better than that, friends.

Peace and grace,

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

12 thoughts on “My Family Crest Can Beat Up Your Family Crest (Unicorn!)”

  1. This really made me laugh and I haven’t even had any real coffee yet 🙂 Think I’ll go see if my family even has a family crest! Blessings! Ann

      1. It’s all about perspective, my friend. The battlefields of yore were strewn aboot wi’ fragments o’ blood-spattered pastel fabric an’ feathers. Our secret weapon? Droppings and general annoyance.

  2. I am a Daniels also. Love the unicorn! But I can’t get the picture out of my head of My Little Pony and “The Last Unicorn” movie.

Leave a Reply

