It’s Our Seven Year Anniversary Today….

It’s our seven-year anniversary today.

wedding

He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord (Proverbs 18:22).

I’m thankful to God my good thang is a beautiful passionate Jesus-loving red-headed senorita with a killer sense of humor.

She’s a hardworking stay at home mom who gives meticulous care to our two sons, manages and organizes our household, and has successfully started her own business this past year. Because of my lack of mechanical skill she stresses more about household maintenance than any wife should (to my shame I know). I practically have to Google how to replace a light bulb. On top of all this, she has taken on organizing and revamping the young children’s ministry at our church…and all this WITH dinner duty to boot.

I’d like to take this opportunity to publicly apologize to her for every unpicked-up towel, abandoned coffee cup, and loitering pair of shoes I have been responsible for. I have acted like a spoiled rotten little boy for long stretches in our marriage.

We strengthen the theory that opposites attract. She’s short, I’m tall. She leans Wesleyan, I lean Reformed. She’s outgoing, I’m an introvert. She takes the angry bull by the horns, I try to talk the bull out of its anger.

So I am thankful for God’s gracious provisional help-meet to me. She is a blessing and a compliment to my many weaknesses as a man. I am learning daily all the practical implications of loving a wife as “Christ loved the church” (Eph 5:25-32).

I pray I am much better at cherishing her ten, twenty, and fifty years down the road of matrimony than I am now.

I love you Jessica Lee Daniels. May the only thing that breaks our covenant be death. And even in our stumbling weakness: May we continue to image forth the ancient love affair between the Bridegroom and His bride, as His grace continually enables us.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

25 thoughts on “It’s Our Seven Year Anniversary Today….”

  1. It’s always nice to read about someone’s “seven year itch” that means “gimme seven more of the same, please” rather than something more sinister. Good on ya.

    Blessings and peace to you and yours. We celebrate 7 X 3 + 4 this year…and still like each other. Cool, huh?!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS BRYAN! You are a lucky man. My mom used to have a green hankie thing she wore around her neck too, when she drank coffee with the neighbors. And, believe or not, mom used to wear her hair in that short, easy-to-manage style too. Same color and everything. You’re a lucky man. Any more pictures of her to share? ;>)

  3. Awesome! Maybe the sweetest thing is knowing that a Wesleyan lady and a Reformed dude can have marital bliss. Okay, maybe it comes after all that other great stuff, but it’s still really cool.

    (Oh, by the way, my wife can relate to the pain of having a hubby who has to google how to fix just about anything around the house.)

  4. “The Lord bless you [both] and keep you; The Lord make His face shine upon you, and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace” (Numbers 6:24-26).

    God bless you in the coming days, weeks and years together as dearly beloved husband and wife, loving parents and children of Abba Father, in Jesus name.

  5. Happy Anniversary! Lovely way to honor your wife. I received a beautiful tribute from my husband for my 50th birthday this week. He had it printed on a canvas. You guys have no idea how much things like this mean to us gals. Kudos to you and your wife for loving His way.

Leave a Reply

