Nicolas Cage and Left Behind: I Want Your Candid Opinion….

Nick Cage is not Rapture ready
A national treasure left behind

My affection for cheesy movies is well documented, so I’ll probably get a group up to watch the midnight showing of this…. : ) I’m also a big fan of overblown Nicolas Cage performances and his ever-changing joker face.

Not rapture ready

If the rapture happens while I’m in the theater, I will have left this world in one happy ironic state. I’m still a bit perturbed the Oscars snubbed Kirk Cameron for his original Left Behind role of Buck Williams. If that’s not worthy of a Lifetime Achievement Award what is?

On another note Tim Lahaye, the creator of the 16 part (?!) Left Behind books series, says, “The plot line (for the movie) is nothing like the book.” I’m assuming that’s a good sign for the movie.

Maybe the producers of the new Left Behind will take some riveting plot notes from my friends at Rapture Ready:

If you do take the mark (of the beast) then nothing can be done for you—you will suffer the malignant ulcer making the rest of your life almost unbearable. Did you ever have a canker sore in your mouth? If so, then you know how painful that one little canker sore was. Now think of having canker sores all over your body, on your genitalia, in your mouth. Think how painful and unbearable your life will be.

Yeah think about that…unless you’re eating something right now.

What do you think my friends?

Bryan Daniels

PS. This is still, by far, one of the best things on the internet:

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

25 thoughts on “Nicolas Cage and Left Behind: I Want Your Candid Opinion….”

  1. I’m with the last person, Bryan. Think about it and then ask yourself, are you absolutely, unequivocally prepared for my candid opinion on all matters “rapture?” On second thought, forget it. I like ya too much. This was worth it just for the final video.

    As you were…

  2. Don’t know anything about the Nick Flic, but the pet video was a hoot! Honestly, it made me a teeny bit sad at first and then I heard this familiar whisper…”remember Me, I’m God – I created them, I feed the sparrows of the field – my plans are always perfect.” I think maybe the care-givers are gonna need the pets more than the pets need them. 😦

  3. You got to be kidding me!
    The Pet care business must be a joke. Its like saying those who believed in the 2012 doomsday also had a place to leave their pets with. According to the Rapture belief, the rest of us will be deceived by a one world government leader and then suffer the consequence with eternal torment. How can our pets be saved then? I used to believe in the Rapture, I also read most of the Left Behind books (and the old movies). But I finally realized it is just another way for Christians to excuse themselves from doing what Jesus really commanded us to do: love one another as we love ourselves. But instead, the Christians who believe in the rapture are choosing to look up in the sky for the “second coming” instead.

  4. I didn’t watch the first Left Behind movie and I’ll most likely not watch the newer version.

    However, I believe the Bible to be the inspired Word of God and every promise to be true, so of course I believe in the coming event we call the ‘rapture’. I believe it could be very soon, and I watch and wait for His return with joy, but I continue to ‘occupy til He comes’

    We are one day closer!

  5. Nice blog!

    Left Behind and “Rapture” theology are the fable referenced in 1st Timothy 4 along with tickling ear sermons.

    Rider of the white horse rode out with a “crown” (Strong’s prize) on Feasts of Tabernacles 10/09/09 after “he” confirmed peace (not signs a document) with many (UN) on 09/09/09 (flip those numbers).

    Red horse rode out 12/2010 as “Arab Spring” (Strong’s region not earth).

    Rev 12:1-5 signs in heaven was above us on Feasts of Trumpets (warning?) on 09/29/11.

    Black horse is riding economic/currency/inflation scales.

    Fig tree lesson (Matthew 24) is 1947 the proclamation goes forth for Israel to become a nation + 70 years (generation per Psalm 90:10).

    Barry just happens to be going to Jerusalem the day after winter and before Sabbath (March 20-21).

    I could go on, but please know that the next sign may just be the Ark of the Covenant being brought forth really soon.

    We overcome “him”‘by the Blood of the Lamb and our testimony (Rev 12:11).

    Blessings
    Psalm 20

  6. I’m historic premill. I cannot stand Nicholas Cage. I think LaHaye should stick his head in the toilet and flush it until he repents for misleading practically an entire generation of evangelicals and also for being a terrible writer. That is my candid opinion! Also, his nonfiction is a shame. He misrepresents and demonizes amillennialism and any dispensational premill position that does not agree with him, and ignores Historic Premill. Sigh. Anyway, I guess God doesn’t care as much about the poor Christians who are regenerated in the tribulation as he does the ones he raptured. You know, since WE aren’t appointed to suffer wrath…but not them! The Bible doesn’t apply to them the same way! They are appointed to that wrath apparently! There goes the “Jesus took that wrath” argument.

Leave a Reply

