Four Parenting Haikus For Milk Dud Lovers

I took one Creative Writing class in college. Much of the class involved sitting in a circle tribunal of your peers and having your work torn apart. It was horrifying. My haikus, among other forms of writing, were “too overt”. Blogging is a much safer writing experience. I don’t have to witness the disgusting or apathetic facial expressions my work produces in my blogging peers.

But here’s my shot at haiku redemption, just for fun:

Stepped on a Milk Dud

Scraped it off and smelled it

Wasn’t a Milk Dud

The above just happened to my wife yesterday ;)

 

Kisses on the cheek

Holding hands at Wreck It Ralph

Mama is his girl

 

I am Spider Man

Gideon is Bumblebee

Dad, you be the Hulk

.

Spork is gripped tightly

Eyes peek at mashed potatoes

Dinner time prayer

 

Bryan Daniels

 

 

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

13 thoughts on “Four Parenting Haikus For Milk Dud Lovers”

      1. I’m sorry, sir, but I do not understand your simpleton, street-level colloquialisms. To which “creative nerds” as you call them, might you be referring? Signed, Puffedup Bletherington Blabbamore III

  1. Bryan these were so great and so funny I had to read them to Bill. He laughed hysterically at the Milk Dud one. I cannot possibly give you a higher compliment than that. LOL. We both relate, as parents, to you master Haiku skills!

  2. “Spork is gripped tightly

    Eyes peek at mashed potatoes

    Dinner time prayer”

    Truer words have never been written my friend. This is deep. Was there gravy?

Leave a Reply

