I Want To Teach (And Love) Like Mr. Wright

I recently garnered “Teacher of the Month” honors from my educator peers. Though it had more to do with being a team player than my teaching prowess I was grateful. I also got a $20.00 gift card to Walmart to go with it, which as you know is one of my fave places in the world.

This past week I took on an Algebra class for a coworker who will be on maternity leave for 6 weeks. Until Spring Break I’ll be lesson planning for my Geography class (which will have a sub) and teaching the Algebra 1 class.

And coaching track and field for kicks and giggles too.

Mr Wright, of teaching legend, is a boss and the type of teacher every teacher seeks to emulate and every student loves. But I don’t know if I’d ever have the backbone to set off classroom pumpkin bombs and light student’s hands on fire. I wonder what parents think about having to sign legal waivers for every new term.

The holy grail of public education, “Classroom engagement”, doesn’t seem like an issue for him.

His instructional practices aren’t the only thing I’m challenged by. Mr Wright has a big sensitive heart for young people. As preteens get more cocky, pimply, emotional, mouthy, and hardened they become inherently harder to love. That’s why secondary education must be a calling, not a job.

These aren’t just pesky punks, they’re broken souls. These aren’t random shells of flesh, bones and hormones, they’re images of a good and holy Creator.

You can clearly see Wright’s heart has been refined and made soft by the birth and upbringing of his physically disabled son. A son that has taught him that an atrophied body and indeliberate self violence are an occasion to know this: Everything, teaching, fathering, disabilities, everything, boils down to love.

I have two precious impressionable souls entrusted to me everyday. My sons get the short end of the laptop or cable news way too often. May the way I steward my time, energy, and resources display they are dearly cherished and valuable in their father’s eyes.

So a short salute to Mr. Wright: For challenging me to become a better teacher and father. And living with engaging simplicity the timeless truth; without love, I am nothing (1 Cor 13:1-3).

What past or present teacher made a great impact in your life?

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

13 thoughts on “I Want To Teach (And Love) Like Mr. Wright”

  1. Hey Chief, Congrats on the award. No matter why they gave it to you it still means they all felt you deserved it.

    To answer your question, the teacher that had the biggest impact on me was Brother Joey. I went to a small Christian School and he taught music. He was easily the most loved teacher in the school and everyone, including faculty, thought so. He could always be counted on to give great advice. Have concern for the individual he was talking to. And make time for everyone. He was bright, talented and charismatic. But he had an incredibly dorky sense of humor. I miss the man but thank you for reminding me of him.

  2. This is a wonderful Acknowledgement Bryan. Congratulations. I think the teacher who had the most profound impacgt on my life was Mrs Haggemeyer, my fifth grae teacher. She was the first one to really knuckle down on me and make me use the brains God gave me. She didn’t take “no” for an answer and laziness was not an excuse for failure.

  3. I can’t say any school teacher made an impression on me, but my mentor (the pastor who led me to the Lord) was a great teacher. I was full of questions, but he never answered them. He just gave me a list of Scriptures to read, and sometimes, he would ask questions back at me, but he never actually answered my questions. That way, he instilled in me a great love of the Word and a habit to go straight there with any question.

    I used the same principle in teaching youth group. Some teens became a bit frustrated when I wouldn’t give them a simple answer, but they learned to appreciate the wisdom of discovering a truth for themselves . . . and the understanding that came with it.

  4. I just wanted to share the appreciation I have for the teachers. I think it is a very beautiful vocation. I have a few favorites.. but I always remember my first grade homeroom teacher as the dearest to my heart. Congratulations on your award!

Leave a Reply

