Five Songs I’d Be Bummed If You Never Heard

Josh Garrels-Ulysses

I hear a brooding lovesick Bridegroom in this song. And one of the most underrated singer/songwriters in America.

John Mark McMillian-Love You Swore

Singing seems like such strain to that deep raw voice of John Mark McMillian. Johnny Cash-esque if you will. With lyrics every bit as penetrating.

The Civil Wars-Poison & Wine

Marriage covenant. In a song. Other worldly beautiful.

Gregory Alan Isakov- The Stable Song

This is an adult bedtime lullaby with spellbinding lyrics. Love an old banjo too.

Head and Heart-Down In The Valley

“Wish I was a slave, to an age old trade…” Don’t know why, this song had me hooked with that opening lyric. The snazzy little harmonies probably helped too.

Hope you enjoy.

And

Do you have any favorite musical gems you’d be bummed if others never heard?

Bryan Daniels

 

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

17 thoughts on “Five Songs I’d Be Bummed If You Never Heard”

  1. In answer to your question, no, I don’t think I’d be bummed if the songs I consider to be musical gems weren’t heard by others, though it is nice when someone enjoys a song with me. Music is so subjective, and so important.
    Thanks for sharing the songs.

    I’ve heard another song by The Head And The Heart that I really like, called “Lost In My Mind”.

    The “Civil Wars” are awesome, but I’d not heard that song you posted by them until now.

    I’ve not heard of the others you posted, but I am multitasking and now have to get back to listening to doctors dictate in my headset.

    1. Oh, OK, now I see my posts are awaiting moderation, yet they are visible to me.

      I wish there was a way to edit one’s comments in WordPress. I see the spacing came out all weird, with some of the paragraphs squished together.

  2. Great pick on Ulysses. It’s my favorite song by Josh Garrels. Love almost everything by The Avett Brothers, but especially Laundry Room and February Seven. Gungor’s Beautiful Things and Please Be My Strength. Also, anything by Andrew Peterson who is one of the greatest songwriters (and not just “Christian” genre) of this generation. And Audrey Assad is great as well. New group I just heard the other day reminds me of the Civil Wars — who are also fantastic — is the Lone Bellow. Check out their song Two Sides of Lonely on Youtube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Id-sNOhL0I

  3. So excited to have found this particular blog. I love me some good music! Based off of the songs you’ve chosen, you should check out a Nashville band called Elenowen. I love their sweet harmonies and fabulous writing! Their song “Cripple Me” is a haunting story about relationships and trying to do the right thing by the other person…thanks for your post!

  4. Josh Garrels may be the best musician, composer, artist I have ever heard. “Ulysses” is an awesome some! The line, “Tie me to the mast of this old ship and point it home” is my battle cry right now. That album may be the most complete album I’ve ever heard as well, from start to finish. He is on my go to play list.

    “My Epic” is another great band I was introduced to recently. The songs “Alone” and “Deathbed” (http://youtu.be/nSkNosdppR4) are just lyrically riveting.

Leave a Reply

