Why I am Switching From WordPress.com To WordPress.org

Well, my fellow WordPress peeps, that was awkward.

Turns out I’ve “misunderestimated” the maligned WordPress monkeys. A few days ago I emailed WordPress support with the hopes they could help me transfer my WordPress followers to my new self hosted site. After an extended weekend  long wait with no response and researching old help board fodder that stated it couldn’t be done, I wrote this post begging my followers to follow me once again.

A few hours after posting that heartfelt pleading a happy engineer informed me through e-mail that she had just transferred all my WordPress followers, so I should slowly back off the ledge and settle down. So there you go. Disregard my threats of never hearing from me again. You’re all accounted for and here where you belong after all.

Three WordPress monkeys hard at work
Three WordPress Monkeys hard at work

And I say: Well done WordPress, well done. And I apologize to all the WordPress monkeys whose work I doubted; I take back everything I said about you and your lack of opposable thumbs.

As my first official new post on www.chiefoftheleast.com here are the promised reasons I have for making the switch to self hosted.

WordPress.org platforms have Sa-weet Plugins

I always hated I could never put Ref Tagger on my old site so that readers could conveniently see Scripture whenever it was referenced. Now I can type Leviticus 27:11 for no reason whatsoever and “BOOM!” there it is in all of its Levitical glory (when you hover over it). I also have downloaded an SEO plugin by Yoast that I am quite smitten with. There are plenty more to come I’ll be sharing with you.

WordPress.com ads were….er….not always “consistent” with my site message

I remember one post I wrote that alluded to the prophetic office of Jesus that had a video ad for some hack fortune-teller attached to it. If I ever choose to monetize my blog in the future I will at least have the freedom to choose ads by companies that won’t stab my conscience in the back. If Ads are going to be on my site regardless I might as well make the money off of them. If I can make enough pocket change to pay for the hosting then I’ll be happy. Blogging is still a much cheaper hobby than golf, or hunting, or spelunking. Which leads me to…

WordPress.org Gives Me Freedom, But Not Enough To Hurt Myself

There is still a support system attached to WordPress.org self hosting, yet there is also more autonomy to make your site your own baby. I’ll be tinkering with layouts, commenting features, html code….Ok, not really that last one. But I don’t have to know the ins and outs of site design because WordPress.org makes this so easy even a PC user like I can do it….almost…by myself.

So there you go.

I appreciate your continued following and encouragement.

Oh yeah, and whenever you get the chance: Give your friendly neighborhood helper monkey a hug for me.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

23 thoughts on “Why I am Switching From WordPress.com To WordPress.org”

  1. Welcome to the. WordPress.org side of things! I love it. If you activate jetpack you get all the cool wordpress.com stuff, too. Ive been using wordpress.org on my privately hosted site for almost two years now. I love the freedom…although sometimes I have to get my tech geek brother to help me with stuff. Keep posting. I know I haven’t commented in a while but I’m still reading!

  2. Hey Bryan,
    I always enjoy your thought-provoking writing, so I thought I’d add a note here. I follow through the RSS feed, and I wouldn’t have made the transfer without seeing one of these posts about moving. I don’t know what percentage of followers I might represent, but you should probably continue to remind them to change their feed to the new address.
    I’m interested to see how the move goes. Thank you for your work.
    Bradley

    1. That is what I read, but my “WordPress.com” followers through Reader have appeared on my Dashboard too. I *think* she transferred everyone and she said she did, but some may want to email subscribe or grab the RSS feed just in case. Thanks!

      1. Hey I can’t seem to follow this blog – it says that the feed doesn’t enable subscribers 😐 Do you have Jetpack enabled?

          1. Yeah am logged in as a WP.com user and there’s a black “follow” button in the bottom right corner (part of the Jetpack setup/plugin) and I normally will follow blogs through that 🙂 But it just didn’t work. :
            Anyway nice blog and thanks for the follow/like on mine. Regards
            J

              1. It worketh! Yay! Btw just one other thing in my 1280×800 Chrome Web browser the FB like widget is hidden by the follow button. Why not code it (if you can) to the left of the screen. 🙂 Just a top tip. I’m a programmer and I traul websites and try and give good feedback! Blessings bro!

                What do you think? Does this fit your baptistic points of view?
                http://gbpscotland.org/

                1. Thanks for the input! That’s a sweet site and mission: We need more mega churches in America that wouldn’t be territorial in equipping other churches to do the work of planting. Thanks for sharing the word!

  3. Simple just logon to your Dashboard>>Settings>>Facebook Members and then 4 text boxes down you’ll see an option which says Side? click it and select “right” and then save and preview your changes and that’s you done!

    I had to intsall this plugin on my site just to figure it out! Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

