God Wants To Be Annoyed

I live with my own personal four year old petitioner/investigative reporter. He asks what seems like a 1000 rapid fire questions throughout the day:

What’s that?

Where are you going?

Can I see?

Can I have arcoons (translation: cartoons)?

Can I go to Mimi’s (grandma)?

Can I go to Mickey’s (other grandma)?

Can I go outside?

Can I have a sandwich?

Can I have juice?

Can I (play) fight with you?

Can you fix my train/car/airplane/transformer/monster truck/etc?

Where’s momma?

Where’s Gid (brother)?

And maybe his favorite default question of all, said with boyish wonder:

What happened?!

I’m sure I’ll miss his little inquiries when he becomes a quiet self-confident teenager who believes his pops is out dated and irrelevant. Questions are the mark of humility: as a small child, Josiah knows he doesn’t know the answer to many questions and he trusts someone else to give it to him (me!).

Unlike this fallen impatient dad, the heavenly Father always loves to have His sleeve tugged on, to be incessantly implored, to be uncompromisingly interrogated by His adopted children. He wants us to keep asking, seeking, knocking, and ringing the doorbell like an overzealous girl scout.

Amazing isn’t it? As a whiny son with trivial requests I take this to heart:

God the Father through the blood of His own Son wants to be annoyed by our prayer requests.

Crazy.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

22 thoughts on “God Wants To Be Annoyed”

  1. I kind of hesitate to comment, because I don’t want to be “that guy,” but what do you think about the difference in answers? I imagine you immediately and directly answer Josiah’s questions — why do you think it works differently with God?

    1. Great question Nate. I can’t speak for everyone, but I have experienced what are immediate and direct answers from Him. Now I know that is not always the case as Scripture shows. God doesn’t answer Paul’s prayer for the thorn in the flesh to be removed (at least not in the way he expected). God doesn’t even seem to “answer” His own Son’s prayer in the garden: “Let this cup pass from me.”

      I don’t know if the “answers” are really the main thing for God. We think we know what we need, yet he absolutely knows what we need: Namely, Him.

      In prayer, God does not want to just be known as a genie in a bottle or a sugar daddy. A human father/son relationship is analogous but it is still “different” because this is not human/human but human/Yahweh contact. There was a great price that was paid (Christ) so we could have access to this Father in prayer and if we quickly get stuff without understanding Him that doesn’t benefit us. God could answer every prayer swiftly and overtly but if that creates spoiled children with little capacity for faith then it is useless to Him. I have a tendency to limit God’s attributes, but when I say He is a Father I need to remember it is not just a father I am approaching (He’s Creator, Judge, etc).

      Prayer helps Him give me what I need (Him), not just what I want at the time.

  2. This is a great confirmation to me. God has been speaking to me about our greatest weapon. He has been driving me to deeper intercession than ever before
    . May I reblog this?

  3. Great post Bryan, and one that did me a lot of good today! God does indeed want us to come to him with our petitions and as patient as we are with our children so should we be patient in waiting for God’s answers!

  4. A persistent prayer attended to by scrutinizing care for of reason we lay our heart bare but for reason we may not be granted what is yearning there.

  5. I remember those days when my kids were 4. Now my granddaughter is 1 and I just love to hear her say her first word, duck! I think grandparents are better at answering though, because they usually have more time. Then again, God is timeless.

  6. I myself have a 7 year old and have thought about this a lot as well. Although my motives are not always completely pure I do answer my kid’s questions in different ways. Sometimes I say no or make her wait because it will be better for her. (i.e. the 10 am question, “Can I have a cookie?”) Sometimes I say no because the question comes in the form of a demand and not a request. (i.e. “Get me a cookie?”) Sometimes I will use the question to try and teach something else. (i.e. “You are hungry so let’s have something nutritious.” and although she doesn’t get what she asked for she gets what she needs.) Other times I give her what she asks for because I just want to see her smile. The metaphor is very appropriate.

  7. Reblogged this on Join the Joyride! 😉 and commented:
    I’ve been quiet here for a long time because all I could afford are one- or two-liners, what with my newborn and extra demanding-for-attention 5-yr old chatterbox. As a parent, I’m learning that while I love my kids so much, there are times when I want to be left to myself and not be annoyed… amazingly, our Heavenly Father wants to be annoyed, all the time, for we were told to “pray without ceasing!” This blog captures my thoughts….:-)

Leave a Reply

