Say “Nice Doggie” and Pray You Don’t Have To Throw A Rock

Diplomacy is the art of saying, “Nice Doggie!” until you can find a rock.

Will Rogers

Not very long ago I was taking a friendly jog in my neighborhood. As I passed a house about a quarter of a mile from home out jutted two unfriendly pit bulls from the garage.

On a full-bore sprint.

Towards me.

I stopped in my tracks as they neared and watched in dismay as the leading dog went airborne about three yards from me.

I realized her aiming point was my right arm, which I subsequently stuck above my head in the nick of time as she flew by my torso. When she turned to collect her wits I found myself squared off eye to eye(s) with two angry pups. From the garage a woman’s voice rang out. An angel diplomat, and maybe a derelict owner, hollered the names of the dogs and ran to corral them as they stood staring me down.

She apologized and I continued my run (shaken). Sometimes the authority of a mediator can calm an angry beast.

As I ran, I was reminded of a childhood friend who encountered two stray pit bulls in the woods with his playmate. There was no owner to restrain the dogs for him. One of the dogs latched on to his face and commenced to tear it to shreds. Eventually, the friend was able to fend off the animals with a machete. Years and tens of thousands of dollars of facial surgery (and a court settlement) later and deep scars still remain from that attack.

Sometimes the authority of a sword is the only thing that can calm an angry beast.

Let’s hope and pray peaceful diplomacy rules the day for Israel and Palestine. I know it’s unlikely, maybe humanly impossible, for the “City of Peace” to preserve much longer without major battle conflict; but we should at least shun the sure international domino effect a Gaza War would have on invested nations.

How long will America be able to speak soft words to a rabid situation, while merely carrying her big sword and pocketful of rocks? How long until diplomatic solutions necessarily give way to machete solutions?

I don’t know.

This is why I’m glad I’m not the president. And it is one sure reason we should persist to pray for our political leaders making earth-shaking decisions in the crucible of the moment right now. Even the fiercest political opponents of the Obama administration better plead for uncommon wisdom on America’s behalf.

Lord haste the day humanity has exhausted its diplomatic and military resources, and the Prince of Peace takes his rightful place in the New Kingdom. Instability will give way to the unshakable One sooner now than ever, peeps.

Bryan Daniels

PS-If you’re a pitbull advocate, please don’t make the comments about that. Thanks.

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

6 thoughts on “Say “Nice Doggie” and Pray You Don’t Have To Throw A Rock”

  1. I agree with Pastor Timothy. Seems like the only thing these people understand is force. My prayers are with Israel.

  2. It will come down to the sword, it is only a matter of time. Things look pretty grim right now with Hamas having fired rocket(s) at Jerusalem. the rocket(s) landed outside of town, but if Hamas did this once, they will do it again…one can only expect Israel to take this all in with no significant action only so long.
    I find it almost ironic that other countries say Israel should not invade Gaza, and while I agree that would be best…those countries are not being fired upon by a terrorist organization which has promised to eradicate Israel from the face of the earth. I wonder how they would react if the shoe was on their foot?
    All that being said, I pray cool heads will prevail…

  3. There is wrong on both sides here, both groups fire at the other. Israel escalated it this week by murdering a Hamas leader. Remember Hamas was a legally elected government.

    Father I pray for a peace maker who can get both sides to see the need to live together, with respect and treat each other as they want to be treated. I pray that the leaders of others countries do not make this worse but can act to control the situation.

Leave a Reply

