Post-Election SackCloth and Ashes

I like what a local Baptist church sign marquee displayed the day after election: “Join us: Instead of 40 days of purpose, 40 days of repentance.”

Some say with clenched absoluteness,

“God is judging America!”

Which could be true. But in the midst of red-faced talking heads and predilections of coming doom we sometimes forget that judgment begins in the house of God first (1 Peter 4:17).

So I offer some post-election repentance on behalf of my fellow brethren and sist(ren), and mainly….on behalf of me. If you don’t consider yourself to be a apart of said “house” feel free to exclude yourself from the following tearing of garments!:

On behalf of my Republican brethren, I repent for pridefully acting as if my political stance is always the moral/spiritual/ high ground, from marriage to abortion to Fox News. We can appear to be right philosophically/religiously and still be very wrong in nature (Matt 23:27).

On behalf of my Democratic brethren, I repent for pridefully acting as if my political stance is always the moral/spiritual high ground, from welfare to women’s rights to MSNBC. The Red Letters of Jesus aren’t inherently more important than the rest of His inspired revelation (John 5:39).

On behalf of my Libertarian brethren, I repent for pridefully acting as if my political stance is always the moral/spiritual high ground, from the debt crisis to states rights to Ayn Rand. The Bible is the only totally inspired work of God, not the US Constitution (2 Tim 3:16).

On behalf of my non voting brethren, I repent for pridefully acting as if my political stance is always the moral/spiritual high ground, from end times prophecy to food storage to illuminati conspiracy theories. Jesus doesn’t want our vote for President anymore than He wanted to be the one up “Apostle” in the ancient Apollos/Paul argument (1 Cor 1:12).

So I personally turn, not mainly away from any of these convictions, but to something so much greater. This:

Christ is our treasure, only hope, and His love reigns supreme. We need not rescind into some monkish lifestyle. But our priorities should be blazingly clear in these days. The King lived, the King died, the King is coming again. Every president and king, living or dead, will one day bow to this One (Phill 2:10).

He is the only spiritual high ground, all other people and their ideologies must appear facedown before His righteousness.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

17 thoughts on “Post-Election SackCloth and Ashes”

  1. I really appreciate this. Good thoughts, well said. I have only one “cause,” which is Jesus Christ, who isn’t really a “cause,” anyway. He is the King of kings.

  2. Very important message here!! Thank you so very much Bryan for helping share the “truth” of who we are, what we are here for and WHO we are told to exalt above all else!
    Praise our Almighty Father in the blessed name of the Lord Jesus Christ.
    Blessings from a sis(tren)
    Stephanie

  3. repentance? repentance? boy, have i repented . . . this is what i wrote:

    I asked myself Friday what legacy am I passing down to my children’s generation? Paul the Apostle encourages the readers to imitate him, follow his example in the way of Christian living and service. I must not be imitating Paul too well because it is obvious the younger generation does not want to nor is interested in imitating me and my bland Christianity. It is obvious, I blend into secular society. I am comfortably at peace looking, talking and being just like them. Who’s the “them”, the unchurched, the unsaved. God, forgive me!

    This election has sparked many questions from me. It has challenged me to rethink my convictions, involvements and commitments in my life. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace and not of my own doing or good works. I believe in the Bible; I study the Bible as regularly as I can. I don’t pray as much as I should. I am trying to understand the holiness of God and revere Him for who He is. But obviously, this is all being done from the comfort of my home while sitting in my chair. I am not living out a lifestyle as exemplified by Paul. I am not in the world. But more than that, I am not passing on a legacy, my Christian heritage, to the younger generation. I am not empowering them as instructed in scripture so that they might become emboldened to live an absolute life for Christ and His service. If I am living a bland life, what will they be living once they are my age?”

  4. Wonderfully well said, my Good Brother,

    Knowing that the goodness of God leads to repentance. . . I too repent for all the times that I have placed my trust in men rather than in the true and living God. Psalm 118:18 is said to be the verse that is in the very center of the Bible:

    It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in men. . .

    Thanks for the reminder that all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.

  5. Bryan, You are so right “Judgment begins at the house of God”. Most “Christians” do not want to hear that. It is easier to point the finger elsewhere.
    God bless you.
    T.A.

  6. This was pretty darn good. I liked the broad sweep of things, how we all fall short of God and we like to think that our politics equal Christianity. Thanks for the post!

  7. Judgment has begun at the house of God. Those that “received not the love of the truth” are flocking around wolves in sheep’s clothing that tickle their itching ears. Judgment began when in the 1950s and 1960s the nation rejected God by banning him and his Word from schools, becoming a post-Christian nation. God began lifting his protection even then, even though the prosperity that the Christian culture had brought lingered awhile more.

    The Church failed to warn the nation in 1913 against giving the money changers a monopoly over their money, and against breaking the commandments “Thou shalt not steal” and “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbors’ goods” or anything else of thy neighbors, when they passed the laws establishing the privately owned Federal Reserve Bank and the income tax.

    Since the first Supreme Court decrees affected only the schools, they enabled a godless generation to grow up with an education that left God out of the world. Our parents and grandparents, most of them, left us there instead of putting us in Christian schools.

Leave a Reply

