Happy Birthday, Bob Dylan (71) – You Got To Serve Somebody

Happy birthday to one of the pioneers of bare bones singer-song writing folk music that was supplemented only by no frills acoustic guitar. Ever since high school I’ve appreciated Dylan’s brutally honest,  sometimes enigmatic, always timeless voice.

Much of his music has strong spiritual overtones. Some may say overtly “Gospel.” Maybe none are so strong and anthemic as “You Got To Serve Somebody”:

In his early musical years Dylan moved from an infatuation with the Little Richard type Rock and Roll towards the mellower Woody Guthrie-esque folk music of old. His explanation:

The thing about rock’n’roll is that for me anyway it wasn’t enough … There were great catch-phrases and driving pulse rhythms … but the songs weren’t serious or didn’t reflect life in a realistic way. I knew that when I got into folk music, it was more of a serious type of thing. The songs are filled with more despair, more sadness, more triumph, more faith in the supernatural, much deeper feelings.

I feel ya Bob. Happy Birthday.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

18 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Bob Dylan (71) – You Got To Serve Somebody”

  1. In one of my sermons I preached last spring, I quoted the lyrics to Dylan’s “You Gotta Serve Somebody”… good stuff!

  2. I love folk acoustic music… Actually been writing a little myself. 🙂 I saw an awesome documentary on Dylan and I have a lot of respect for him for sticking to his guns… He caught a lot of flack for bringing in rock-ish type music… Really he was just uncompromising in what he felt and stuck to it. Nice.

  3. Hurricane…pure genius. Probably my favorite Dylan song.
    And of course, All along the watchtower….which Hendrix made his own.
    Have you ever listened to Johnny Winter do Highway 61 revisited? Sublime.

Leave a Reply

