Answering a skeptic

Reformed Baptist Fellowship

I was corresponding with an unbeliever the other day and he said, “…until I see something that proves there is a higher power beyond a shadow of a doubt, I can’t believe in a God.”

I replied to him that “beyond a shadow of a doubt” is not a standard you apply to a lot of things you believe to be true.  Most things we believe, we believe based on the preponderance of the evidence.  We are inherently limited in our capacity to know with absolute assurance (beyond a shadow of a doubt) much of anything.

Epistemology is a long philosophical discussion.  The point is, it is entirely reasonable to believe what has the greatest likelihood of being true based on the preponderance of the evidence.  That is how all of life is lived by the rational person.

I offered him the following arguments for the existence of God:

1…

View original post 600 more words

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

7 thoughts on “Answering a skeptic”

Leave a Reply

