Let The Gospel Lion Defend Himself (Spurgeon)

A great many learned men are defending the gospel; no doubt it is a very proper and right thing to do, yet I always notice that, when there are most books of that kind, it is because the gospel itself is not being preached. Suppose a number of persons were to take it into their heads that they had to defend a lion, a full-grown king of beasts! There he is in the cage, and here come all the soldiers of the army to fight for him. Well, I should suggest to them, if they would not object, and feel that it was humbling to them, that they should kindly stand back, and open the door, and let the lion out!

I believe that would be the best way of defending him, for he would take care of
himself; and the best “apology” for the gospel is to let the gospel out.

CH Spurgeon

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

16 thoughts on “Let The Gospel Lion Defend Himself (Spurgeon)”

  1. What a great post! I thought of the quote, “Truth needs no defense!” After all, we serve him who declared, “I am the truth. . .” He is also called “The Lion of the Tribe of Judah.” How about that!

  2. “A great many learned men are defending the gospel; no doubt it is a very proper and right thing to do, yet I always notice that, when there are most books of that kind, it is because the gospel itself is not being preached.”

    Absolute genius — and truth — from the redoubtable Mr. Spurgeon. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

  3. reminds me of a current song by the Newsboys…”My God’s not dead, He’s surely alive, He’s living on the inside roaring like a Lion…” and yes, LET HIM OUT!!! don’t just keep Him for yourself…share Him!

Leave a Reply

