Happy Fourth Birthday My Josiah and Practical Mother’s Day Gifts

My oldest, Josiah, is four years old today. We’ll celebrate at his Papa and Mickey’s house with some of his closest church school friends with tractor rides, slip n slides, jumpy jumps and lots of cake.

Josiah is one of my only earthly joys. When our eyes met for the first time in the delivery room four years ago it was love at first sight for me. I met a tender bundle of helplessness and I knew instantly I would die and kill for him.

Now he’s into big trucks, big tractors, football, Power Rangers and Transformers. In fact, I have him convinced that the lead Transformer character is named after his dad: Optimus “Bryan”.  Children truly are a blessing from God, and I start every night’s bedtime prayer with him so as not to forget, “Thank you Jesus for this boy, he’s our precious lover joy….”

As tomorrow coincides with Mother’s Day I asked Jessica what she wanted from the boys. She has worked tirelessly the past week organizing the birthday party, building her own cosmetic business, and keeping the household afloat. She said with little hesitation: “Not flowers or candy. Do the dishes and laundry for me.”

Well, I’m about half-finished with that gift as of writing this, so I better get back to work.

Peace and grace peeps and remember to be in the Lord’s house this Lord’s Day.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

14 thoughts on “Happy Fourth Birthday My Josiah and Practical Mother’s Day Gifts”

  1. I have him convinced that the lead Transformer character is named after his dad: Optimus “Bryan”.” Hahahaha! That’s awesome. 🙂

    As for Mother’s Day… all my Mom wanted was a straightened and tidied up laundry room. Just finished doing that, and of course, we’ve got a few other things up our sleeves, too. 😉

  2. oops…hit the enter key before I was done! 🙂 That was a hint btw regarding weekly. Mom’s work is never done. Josiah~~hope your birthday just wears you out playing, laughing, eating, etc. With him, you are blessed as well Bryan! Children are super-duper-amazing-sweet-loving gifts from our Awesome Father!

  3. LOL! Too funny! My wife said the EXACT same thing to me: “For Mother’s Day I don’t want to wash any dishes or do any laundry.” Thanks for sharing your heart for your family, it warms me just reading about it.

  4. I have kids in that age range, so I can relate. It sounds like a lot of fun. Also, I agree about being in the Lord’s house on the Lord’s Day. It is not just something we do, it is where we need to be.

  5. Cherish the moments of his childhood. It goes by too quickly. I look at my sons and think, “Where are the little boys who used to jump on the bed to wake me up in the mornings?” They are now out on their own, one with his own darling daughter. Josiah is blessed to have you as a father. Sandy

Leave a Reply

