A Father Who Is Angry…Because He Loves

In Hope Has Its Reasons, Becky Pippert writes,

‘Think how we feel when we see someone we love ravaged by unwise actions or relationships. Do we respond with benign tolerance as we might toward strangers? Far from it…. Anger isn’t the opposite of love. Hate is, and the final form of hate is indifference.’

If I, a flawed narcissistic sinful woman, can feel this much pain and anger over someone’s condition, how much more a morally perfect God who made them? God’s wrath is not a cranky explosion, but his settled opposition to the cancer of sin which is eating out the insides of the human race he loves with his whole being.’ “

As E. H. Gifford writes, ‘Human love here offers a true analogy: the more a father loves his son, the more he hates in him the drunkard, the liar, the traitor.’

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

8 thoughts on “A Father Who Is Angry…Because He Loves”

  1. I hear this loud and clear. Going through some things the last few days–not my situation but my son’s–and I actually hurt sometimes. I have on my list of things to write about, “If it’s Not About Me, Why does it Hurt So Much”.

  2. Reminds me of Isaiah 61:1-2…my ministry cohort and I once did a lectio divina exercise on Isaiah 61, and when we read verse 2 the word “vengeance” hit me so hard…God hates sin because it is marring the ones He loves…

Leave a Reply

