The Relevant And Unshakable King

Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe (Hebrews 12:28)

We have a ridiculous fascination with modern renderings of relevance over ancient diplays of biblical reverence.

Sometimes the sociological disciplines take precedent over the sufficient Spirit born word. The modern church doesn’t necessarily need more business theories, church growth plans, surveys, branding campaigns, and cutesy advertisements. More than anything, the church needs to grasp His holiness.

We can be seeker sensitive, but we need to realize God is the seeker in the relationship (Luke 19), and it would be nice to be sensitive to His commands. We don’t approach Him glibly like a child approaching Mickey Mouse.

He is our Father. Yes. But our Father also happens to be a creator of all things, and a high holy sovereign King. Mankind, even the “holiest” can’t stand His blazing majesty: Moses hid his face in a rock. Isaiah fell prostrate like dead. Ezekiel laid dazed and confused on the seashore.

Jesus made the Father’s holiness tolerable and accessible to sinful men like us. Holy justice called for the powder crushing of Jesus.

And it took a scourging of a perfect man. It took a Father’s utter rejection of an only Son. It took the only innocent blood in the universe poured over guilty enemies like me.

It’s wonderful love. It’s beautiul intimacy. But it is all these with an unimaginable eternal cost. Reverence is the manner we should approach such precious stones. Sometimes a closed mouth and a bended knee is all that can be done in the midst of such striking mysterious otherness.

Let’s not be the spoiled children who “play marbles with God’s diamonds.” (CH Spurgeon)

Not in church.

Not anywhere.

If this “kingdom can’t be shaken”, how much more unshakable is the holy One who built and rules it?

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

22 thoughts on “The Relevant And Unshakable King”

  1. I can’t press the “like” button enough times on this one. I love your definition of “seeker sensitive.” Also nice to be reminded of the Spurgeon quote. I had forgotten that on.

  2. God is the Seeker … the One seeking intimate relationship and communion with all humankind, and making it available through the Son. I agree that “a closed mouth and a bended knee” is often our most faithful response.

  3. Excellent post. You are absolutely correct – church communities and the individual Christian does not necessarily need more ministries or resources. If we don’t understand how incredible He is … it’s just meaningless. All of it.

  4. Thanks for a most inspiring post. As I thought about the “unshakable” qualities of our awesome God, the lyrics to “You Are God Alone” by Phillips, Craig and Dean came to mind. Here is a link to their YouTube version of this great song. . . “Unshakable, unstoppable, unmoveable. . . That’s who You are. . . ”

  5. Thanks Bryan – we can rightly sing “What a Friend We Have in Jesus” but have to be careful if we start thinking of The Word as just a buddy or pal.

  6. Awesome post, Bryan, and well-timed, at least for me. I was reading the intro to the New Testament in the 2011 Catholic translation of the Bible, and was struck by the translators’ pastoral notes that there was no intention to paraphrase the Scriptures to make them “politically correct” or more exciting for a modern audience. It’s something that I have to watch when reading Bible stories to my kids; Arch Books are completely awesome, but I have to make sure that I follow them up with the actual Scripture verses, so they start to get a sense of what the Lord actually said to us, and continues to say today. I appreciate the reminder. Peace be with you! Kelly

  7. Oh Bryan, I love Charles Spurgeon and I had never heard that particular quote before. I do feel that Jesus is my Friend and my Father, but I am careful to give Him the glory due unto His name. This was a humbling reminder. Sandy

  8. The challenge I’m facing with my church now (a modern, attractional model) is that there’s not a lot behind the fancy new building and ‘lodge’ decor. They nailed the ‘seeker sensitive’ manual, and they’re always ‘excited!’, but they do sometimes treat Jesus like Mickey Mouse, and salvation like a ride at the park. I sense a lack of depth, which is frustrating…

  9. I don’t know how you do it, but you are right on – again! Our church recently changed pastors due to retirement. By the new pastor’s sermons, I can tell he is desiring to build a “seeker-friendly” church. My heart weeps and my soul thirsts. It seems he is forgetting the “unimaginable eternal cost” and our response to this cost should be a humbled, repentive, transforming heart, not the five “purposeful’ steps in finding our place.
    cyndi
    http://advocateofhope.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

