Taking Flight Friday And Jumps That Last

This vid is for any that were curious as to how my athlete did at the Florida Track and Field state finals last Friday. It was taken with my cellphone-quality bloggie so forgive the graininess. The winds didn’t help my hand steadiness either.

You can also hear my all wise and highly technical coachspeak: “Thattaway!” “Walk it off!”

Nat Dixon jumped 6’4″ and finished third overall in the high jump. He’s just a sophomore and spent very little time practicing jumping form because of his strenuous basketball schedule. The jumpers above him were seniors. He’s going to get 6’6″ next year and after that, the sky is the limit (quite literally).

With the Olympics around the corner, I’m always impressed by the accounts and testimonies of training athletes about what they put their bodies and minds through for the gold. They do it for personal goals, country, world records, and maybe sponsorships. It puts me to shame when comparing the inconsistent discipline of my spiritual walk with their physical training: they do it for temporary praise and reward, I do it for the eternal King and crown (souls) that will never perish.

That is why I am daily thankful for the greater reality of grace through Jesus Christ. Fortunately, His mercies are new every morning because I need them desperately every morning (Lamentations 3:23). All jumping, running and throwing done for Him will resound back to us in eternity. As the poem by CT Studd says:

“Only one life, ‘twill soon be past, Only what’s done for Christ will last.”

Peace and grace,

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

One thought on “Taking Flight Friday And Jumps That Last”

Leave a Reply

