Calling All Vapors

“There is no glory in being a featherbed soldier, a man bedecked with gorgeous medals, but never beautified by a scar, or ennobled by a wound. All that you ever hear of such a soldier is that his spurs jingle on the pavement as he walks. There is no history for this carpet knight. He is just a dandy. He never smelled gunpowder in battle in his life. If he did, he fetched out his cologne to kill the offensive odor. Oh, if we could be wise enough to choose, even were as wise as the Lord Himself, we would choose the troubles which He has appointed to us, and we would not spare ourselves a single pang.”
― Charles H. Spurgeon

Safety is a myth.

We’re all gonna die.

Whether by accident, illness, or some other means.

We’re given one life.

It’s only a vapor.

To risk is right.

Make your vapor count to His glory.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

34 thoughts on “Calling All Vapors”

  1. There is a song (I think by Point of Grace) that pleads “heal the wound but leave the scar.” It reminds me there will be wounds. And then the scar reminds me of the wound and battle. Even as you quoted Spurgeon, “There is no glory in being a featherbed soldier, a man bedecked with gorgeous medals, but never beautified by a scar, or ennobled by a wound.”

    There are some battle wounds caused by my own fleshly stupidity and selfishness. And I hate those scars. But, they do remind me there are consequences to my actions. Then, there are scars from wounds fought in battle as a Christian soldier. And I’m proud of those! 😉

  2. Wonderful
    Thank you for posting brother. This has been one of those weeks where the wounds are many in His service. I really needed these words. God is amazing!

  3. I love it when people are challenged to risk for the reward of a great life! With the hope of heaven, the risks really aren’t that great. So, let’s prove the hope we have by throwing caution to the wind for the One who will give us such great rewards when he returns.

    You knocked it out of the park once again, my friend.

  4. I really like this a lot! That quote from Spurgeon is is great, but I like your addition “make your vapor count for the glory of God”! Amen! Taking risks reminds me of Peter gettin’ out of the boat while the other disciples sat there scared to death. He may not have kept his eyes on Jesus, but he got out of the boat.
    Thanks for posting
    ~streim~
    As always brother, be blessed much

  5. Chief,
    There’s nothing like being told you have cancer and the ensuing thoughts. Yes, we’re all going to die and we don’t know how or when but I, a Christian and knowing to whence I go, I was caught off guard. My first thought, I’m too young. Then denial I could die, finally accepting I could die and then not dying. Next, needing to face the reality I am now at a greater risk in dying “before my time”. Crazy. I never knew I had expectations of longevity until I was faced with a rare cancer. Now? I’m a-okay when the Lord calls me home. (But then again, I am not facing death tomorrow, next month or in the near future . . . )

    If you want to read two accounts of Christians dying gracefully, check out my sidebar. Click on “Bob Jennings Journal: I feel like Laughing and Weeping at the same time” and “My Unexpected Walk With Cancer”. The latter one’s most recent entry tells of their decision for no further treatment and moving on to palliative care. I admire these men and their testimonies facing death ease my uncertainties concerning my future.

    Yes, we are but a vapor but eternity awaits.
    Cyndi
    http://advocateofhope.wordpress.com

    1. Thanks for sharing your story with us. A close family member of ours has just found she has stage 4 cancer that has spread to the liver so I can only imagine what you’re going through. God is big enough to lean on I’m sure but my prayers go out to you. God bless!

  6. Reposted on my Facebook page. We are often so afraid to get our “Sunday best” dirty, when we should be wearing work clothes–getting dirty for the gospel!

Leave a Reply

