Provocative Christian Living

I have done all I could to avoid writing about the shooting death of Trayvon Martin. It seemed obvious that there was no need for one more voice to be put into the cacophony of anger, confusion, and dismay over what is at the bottom line an unbelievably  painful tragedy for two families. But two things have led me to the conclusion that it was time. One is a book I have been reading called Think Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman. It is a psychological study that, among other things, details the universal human reaction to not having all the information. We are notorious at jumping to conclusions and filling in the gaps of information and we usually do it in the worst possible ways. I found myself constantly reflecting on the various reactions to each tidbit of news that comes out in this case and felt I was watching a real-time…

View original post 1,272 more words

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

9 thoughts on “”

  1. Thank you for reblogging that post. It’s as if God is speaking to me about this from all directions now! (My own need to love as He loves and see others as He sees them). I touched on this today, in fact, on my blog because I am so convicted about the ways I’ve neglected to reach out to every one in every culture. Thank you, Bryan!

  2. Jesus would say that the media and all people should have compassion for George Zimmerman, for of the two involved in this tragedy, he alone is alive and feeling, albeit it defensive and running and lying like a scared animal.

    Jesus would say he should be tried by the laws of the country, although even that still leaves an inhumane justice of our prison systems.

    Jesus would also say treyvons parents would be best served if George was able to tell them he was wrong, he has problems, and he cannot account for what occurred to him.

    Jesus would say that the state of affairs of current society is sicker and more difficult to address than the simple violence and repression of his day, and that one of the first places to start would be to allow living and active wisdom to replace dead and toxic by the letter dogmatism.

    Jesus would tell you :

    “As all things age, all things Change. I have been with you for 2000 years, yet you only see me as I was 2000 years ago. I am the god of the living, not of the dead. What did you come to church to see, a dead man on a cross? A man dressed in funny clothes? “

  3. Thank you Randy for this reblog. It is without a doubt the truest to the Word of God I have heard. We as followers of Jesus Christ, being forgiven by His atoning blood, should do exactly as suggested. We must always remember, we are “bought with a price” and we belong to to Him. Over and over Jesus told us, “love thy neighbor”!
    Many blessings,
    ~streim~

Leave a Reply

