(Please don’t take too seriously): I’m a shameless “Walking Dead” fan.

Chief of the least

We all have one within our circle of extended family and friends.

We’ll call him “Noah.” He is the modern day cowboy expecting and preparing for a worldwide end-times cataclysmic event of epic proportions. An event similar to what happened in the ancient “days of Noah.” Noah’s not scared though. He fully expects to escape the coming tribulation with pickled food, an embarrassment of generators, and thousands of rounds of military ammo.

He is a man of old school MacGyver-esque type sensibilities which include breeding goats, building raging fires, and blowing up stuff with homemade mortars.

I envy Noah a bit.

My very limited talents include teaching math, coaching football, and writing semi-intelligently about subjects I actually know very little about. But when the second Great Depression hits and people start eating each other again, screw all that: I want to be on Noah’s team.

Tangible survival skill will rule that day, not inane activities like introspection and art.

Noah has got a backup for everything. If…

View original post 343 more words

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

11 thoughts on “”

  1. We are to be busy doing the Kingdom work – I am a Noah in the sense that I believe that many of the things mentioned in Matthew 24 & 25 and the books of Daniel, Ezekiel, etc. have happened or are happening. But I am not worried. I know whose I am, and I plan not to stick around for the apocalypse, I plan to be one of those who is at the wedding feast of the Lamb. I am prepared, am working on getting finances in order and being wise – there is a lot of unrest in the world – but my main goal is to be a helper to others.

  2. Bryan,

    The sad part of all these; end-of-the-world, civilization breakdown, or zombie attack scenarios in a man’s mind is that it is another version of the “perfect woman” dream. In other words, it’s a fantasy. Nice, warm, cuddly happiness in the face of uncontrollable events (read; teenager dating). There is probably very few places in the civilized countries of this world that you will find; freedom, happiness, safety, and protection that the end of the world or the zombies won’t find you. Better to trust in the Savior and know that come zombies, cataclysms, or need, He has you covered. Death? It is a win-win situation.

Leave a Reply

