Chief of the least

It may be the greatest love story in the Old Testament. It is certainly the most scandalous one. The implications this short book brings to us are heart rending and intensely personal.

The book of the prophet Hosea has intrigued me for years.

Hosea has some of the most provocative language of any book of the Bible. It begins with God telling Hosea to do the very last thing any respectable prophet would be expected to do. It begins with God’s command for Hosea to go and marry a prostitute (Hosea 1:2). This prostitute, Gomer, bore Hosea a son which God told him to name “Jezreel.” The prophetic name of “Jezreel” means “scattered”, “judgment”, or “exile.” This son was a sign God would soon punish Israel and scatter the prosperous proud nation in judgment.

After that, Gomer had two more children who were apparently not even Hosea’s. God commanded these two…

View original post 659 more words

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

27 thoughts on “”

  1. Chief of the least,

    Why did the original post not get comments? A post with such a punch-line title–you’d think people would be all over that! I think this happened because we people remain the same. It’s too much for us, this in-your-face truth that reveals who we are and Who He is.

    Thank you for reblogging this. For making God’s love plain.

    1. Some of the posts I’ve reblogged as of late were written when I had very little traffic/subscribers…From time to time I just figured I’d reshare some of the better posts (IMHO) I know very few people saw the first time around!

  2. The book of Hosea is very special to me, as the book of the Song of Solomon is. You are right, it may be one of the greatest love stories of the Old Testament save but the Song of Solomon. My favorite portion of Hosea is found in chapter 2:14-16.
    Therefore, behold, I will allure her, and bring her into the wilderness, and speak comfortably unto her. And I will give her her vineyards from thence, and the valley of Achor for a door of hope: and she shall sing there, as in the days of her youth, and as in the day when she came up out of the land of Egypt. And it shall be at that day, saith the Lord, that thou shalt call me Ishi; and shalt call me no more Baali.

    The word Achor means trouble…..the valley of trouble…..but it is for a door of hope. Interesting…the place of trouble will be used for a door of hope. The word Baali means “my master” and the word Ishi means “husband”. Imagine that, the Lord will allure her and bring her into the wilderness to the the valley full of trouble and it will be there through all trials and tribulations that she’ll be made fruitful and full of joy….and singing. And it will be there that she will call the Lord her husband and no more my master. It will be there that she enters into a very intimate relationship which will change her totally.

    In reading this many years ago, it broke my heart when I realized what the Lord Jesus was saying…..but it wasn’t until I read to Song of Solomon did I really enter into that living, loving relationship where Jesus was more then my Lord and master, He is the lover of my soul……

    I am very pleased to have read your post and thankful for today to be reminded of His love. Thank you.

    1. Nice share JAL….

      I was sitting in a Bible class (listening to a professor I really just did not care for) when the power of this love story hit me like a locomotive.

      On that day, he became the most passionate and brilliant professor I had ever heard…but, more to the point, the Holy Spirit lifted scales and revealed to me the amazing love God has for all those He calls to himself—no matter what wayward lives we have lived!

  3. it is a truly selfless love that would love, sacrifice, forgive and love…what a portrait of our Savior’s love…faithless followers, faithful Servant King

    1. I actually felt led to teach from Hosea tonight after reading this post and watching the videos referenced above. Funny thing happened…

      “Whore” is apparently a pretty popular word in “The Message”…and Hosea 1 has it mentioned several times. Just as I was asking students if any wanted to read “whore” out loud, our pastor popped his head in and gave me a “look.”

      We were just reading the Bible, Preach! 🙂

  4. How true and as we read Hosea very carefully we see where God divorced the Old Covenant nation to bring forth the New work He accomplished IN Christ. The Kingdom shall be taken from you and given to a people/nation that will bear the fruit of it (Matt. 21:43).

  5. Hosea’s call was an incredible test, I often wonder if I could do what he was called to do… There can be a place of doubt for me as to whether or not I have the strength or the courage to take on a call like Hosea or Paul but then I remember the call to be a disciple.

    We have died to ourselves, I have died to myself. There is no reason to consider myself, only the cause of the gospel and the people around me. My life is Christ’s, our lives are Christ’s.

    Thankyou for reminding me of this wonderful Old Testament prophet!

    Glen

  6. Chief,
    Have you read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers? It is a 1800’s novel based on the book of Hosea. It’s one of my favorite books ever. Check it out. I think you would really like it. Great post BTW!

Leave a Reply

