When God Sends The Harvest To Your Front Door

I guess one of the benefits of being off for Spring Break is the opportunity for more Jehovah Witness encounters at the house.

They usually just drop off their Watchtower Literature because no one’s home. But this morning I had the opportunity to have a biblical discussion with two older gentlemen from the local Kingdom Hall. They first made some general points about the end times and the marks of a true Christian, which I had no problem affirming. But before they left I guided the discussion to the physical resurrection of the body (which they deny) and finally the Trinity (which they deny).

We had an amicable Word-centered dialogue for about 30 minutes. The last 1o minutes or so they attempted to excuse themselves from the conversation but I kept plodding along with my point or posed a different question I had for them.

“We’ll talk more about the Trinity when we come back!” One said.

“I’d love that!” I said. “These kind of discussions help keep me on my toes.”

I shook hands with them, told them when they could reach me, and promised an open door anytime I was home.

What was pretty cool in retrospect was that I had just happened upon the above infographic from Challies site right before my encounter. The Trinity is a mysterious and beautiful doctrine no finite mind can grasp. Unfortunately, Jehovah Witnesses explain it away on supposed logical grounds (one said to me “How can the Son be God and have to pray to God the Father?”) or an argument from silence (the other said to me, “The word Trinity is not even in the Bible.”). Other well-meaning Christians fall in the opposite ditch and try to explain the Trinity too much (as the graphic illustrates).

I shared with the gentlemen “If we could put the nature of God in a nice tidy box we could comprehend then He would cease being God.”

I asked them:

“Could Jehovah answer a prayer right here in Lynn Haven, FL and simultaneously answer a prayer in Africa and Asia?”

Yes.

“Could He answer thousands of prayers at once?”

Yes

“Explain to me in logical terms how Jehovah could do that.”

They stared at me for a few moments and changed the subject.

Of course, with all such encounters you replay each argument after the fact and critique your failure to sound like a multiple PHd in biblical languages, theology, and philosophy. But I think the door is open for more dialogue, and I need dissenting opinions to keep me sharp and humble.

I hope we never miss an opportunity to witness to someone knocking down our door so we can explain to them the Scriptures. (1 Peter 3:15)

And let’s not worry if we don’t know all the technical answers. God can use the fumbling stuttering words of any humble saint who desires to please Him and be faithful to His Word. He did it with Moses. He can do it with us.

We plant simple powerful gospel seeds, God makes them grow as He wills. (1 Cor 3:7)

Peace and Grace,

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

90 thoughts on “When God Sends The Harvest To Your Front Door”

  1. Could He answer thousands of prayers at once?” Yes
    “Explain to me in logical terms how Jehovah could do that.”

    That is quite brilliant. Never heard that before. Thanks for sharing your encounter.

    1. That argument stuck with me after reading a book by a former JW who converted to Christianity. For the life of me I can’t remember his name or the book’s name (read awhile back). Thanks and you’re welcome!

  2. My husband is good with encounters with the JW, me not so much so. I had a friend that was JW, and she told me Jesus died on a tree with his hands up over his head, not a cross outstretched… after talking with her, all I could think was, “how on earth can they believe this stuff?” I wouldn’t have thought to say what you said.

    1. Ha! What’s funny is that I saw my wife pull in the driveway and when she saw me at the door with them she immediately backed out and high tailed it down the road to her parents house. But she is bold and passionate in ways I wish I were…

  3. I could go get all the notes in my Bible for when Kyle did his study on the Trinity. All joking aside, there is just too much biblical evidence to support the doctrine of the trinity. Obviously, there are some logical reasons to wonder about such deep mysteries of God. However, like you said, if we could put such things into a nice box, God would cease to be God and he would be one of us. There are times where I would like to understand all the deep riches of God, but then I come to the conclusion that if I could comprehend Him in all His glory, He probably couldn’t help me out in terms of my fallibility. I appreciate this subject matter very much. I appreciate the good dialogue that you seemed to have with them. God’s word never returns void.

  4. Hey Bryan!

    Been there, as I work from home. Unfortunately it seems that after our first discussion we got blacklisted, haven’t seen them since! When you start with the words, “Oh, I’d love to discuss with you, I’m a worship leader at a local church!” and lovingly compare notes with them, it then gets to a point where they notice they are unable to convince you and politely bail out. It’s awesome to talk with them, though, it absolutely keeps you on your toes and praying for answers! I wish I could retain that posture always!

    1. I’ve actually had a similar experience before, except I was the one on their doorstep! Needless to say, he didn’t want to maintain contact very long when the tables were turned. Peace and grace to you and your ministry sir!

  5. Bryan,

    Thanks so much for sharing your encounter which was a marvelous demonstration of the Holy Spirit at work within you, guiding you through that situation. I could also sense the love of God in your desire provoke in a gentle, loving way. It was a blessing to read your post.

    Dr. J (aka Lonnell Johnson)

  6. I’ve always loved it when JW and Mormons knock on my door. You’re right. They definitely keep you on your toes.

  7. I just finished reading “The Shack.” It had been suggested by several members of my church many times, so I finally broke down and read it. I had to keep reminding myself that I wasn’t reading it for the purposes of theology, but the author’s take on the interaction of the Trinity was great, helping me to flesh out some of what some of what JWs and other find objectionable. Thanks for the thoughts.

  8. Great post!

    The last time JW’s came by my house, I tried to give them one of my tracts entitled “None of Us are Promised Tomorrow” (it can be found on my blog) in exchange for what they wanted to give me. Of course, they wouldn’t take it. I said, “You want me to take your information, but you won’t take mine. Why is that?” They gave me some answer about the Word of God being sufficient and they don’t need to read anything else. I wanted to say, “Then why are you trying to give me all these extra publications?” But I didn’t … I should have. It’s been at least a year since they’ve been back. I guess I’ve been blacklisted, too. 🙂

    And thanks for your interest in my blog, Bryan. I’ve been looking around yours for the past couple of weeks and tried to “like” and comment on a few of your other posts, as well, but was unable to before now. I think it had something to do with my other browser. I’m using a different one and “voila!” – it worked! 🙂 Very nice to make your acquaintance. God bless!

  9. “We plant simple powerful gospel seeds, God makes them grow as He wills. (1 Cor 3:7)” Absolutely!!

    My husband has been conversing with a Jehovah Witness for a few weeks discussing the Bible and offering a different biblical theological perspective to him. Last Friday, my husband and I had a very interesting and good bible study with the Jehovah Witness. It is interesting to see what beliefs we agree on as well as the differences.

  10. I live out in a very rural area and they drop by the house and leave their literature on my door too. I’ve answered a few times but as soon as I say that I am Catholic, they quickly exit stage left, lol. Great post and love your responses to them 🙂 blessings, Terri

  11. I applaud you for your courage and efforts. I hope God will bring fruit to that. I am sure that God wants us to take every opportunity to share the gospel. Someone showed me this scripture and I never had seen it this way. “If anyone comes to you and does not bring this doctrine, do not receive him into your house nor greet him, for he who greets hinm shares his eveil deeds.” 2 John 10-11 NKJ

    I’d like to see what you and your followers think about this verse?

    1. Thank you, but I am quite uncourageous by nature. All glory goes to God!

      About 2 John 10-11: I don’t know if that is an absolute prescription for every given situation or not. Culturally in ancient Jewish time I know inviting someone into your home had much more deeper meaning attached to it than it does now. It was practically making them family. And “greeting” one another had a special place for Christians, as Paul commanded “greet each brother with a holy kiss” (which we no longer do thank goodness : )).

      So I would say 2 John 10-11 would be saying don’t invite the cultist into your most inner circle, as your intimate family, or give him the benefits of Christian fellowship. Because he is not a believer. But I don’t think it is telling us not to be kind and neglect an evangelism opportunity that may take place at your door (that sentiment would seem to contradict other Scripture). Either way, interesting verse and question!

  12. I like the title to your post, however, in the comments and the artical was a whole lot of judging going on and the spirit of grandiosity. Who are any of us to judge why god sends his messangers? We are always under the wise watchful eye of God. People always respond to comments and posts reguarding JW’s Mormans, or any other denomination.

    It surprises me that in your comment your reaction was quick to ask them about putting God in a box. When the whole point of even writing this blog was putting God in the box. God is not interrested in who is smarter, and wiser on word. Buy rather with every encounter God is watching all the hearts onvolved. For remember he has said my thoughts are mpt your thoughts, nor are my ways your ways.

    Sure you grabed the attention of your audiance, but did your really ever stop to think am i pleasing God right not or is this human gradtification. Remember even the Devil was educated in the scriptures. What seperated Satan from Christ was what lived in their hearts.

    Weare always inder the watchful eye of God do you really think its an accident they come to your door? Next time rather then being so quick to run away or run down, or debate who is smarter then the other in scripture. I would take a deep look inside my own heart and ask God to show you what it is he wants to see in your heart at that very moment.

    No human can begain to understand the omnipotent presance of the Creater. For my self sence none knows when the end will be. I would rather be found conversing lovingly rather then my Gods smarter then your God.

    God used an ass to speak, who are we to question who he uses to check our intelect and hearts. Mind you i fall shot in this myself but never with. JW or mormans, but rather plain claiming Christians.

    Praying your crop is truely a rich harvest, rather then one eaten by the locusts. My Chemo treatments keep me from being as sharp as I should be. But I never forget to God their is nothing greater then a true love for another.

    1. I’m sorry you took it that way. I try to be careful in my writing not to be brash or abrasive. As I said it was a polite exchange that was left open ended, not a shout match or a game of oneupmanship (or “my God is smarter than yours” as you say).
      I also said I need their dissenting opinions to keep me sharp and humble.

      “God can use the fumbling stuttering words of any humble saint who desires to please Him and be faithful to His Word. He did it with Moses. He can do it with us.
      We plant simple powerful gospel seeds, God makes them grow as He wills.”

      Now, I will say this. I believe based on Scriptures like Galatians 1:8 and 1 cor 12:3 that we CANNOT consider Mormons and JWs brethren in Christ. These are both cults with unfortunate histories who both deny the very nature of Christ and His gospel. I can give you more to read if you are unconvinced of this, but it is not humble or loving to soothe the hearing of those who are on the way to eternal destruction because of such heretical beliefs. It is the opposite of humble or loving to fail to snatch a child from the track of a coming train.

      Again I am sorry if you think me grandiose and prideful. Blessings to you keep fighting the good fight in the midst of such a terrible disease. Prayers.

      1. O my I am sooooo sorry you took my post personal, my comment was more to the fact of where your post lead others. Trust me I know all about cults, just did some work for God in one recent.

        All I am saying is we must be careful not to let the flesh get in the way of what God himself is doing. I made such a mistake myself just recently, while under the influence of Chemo. For the record I was raised one of Jehovah’s Witnesses for the first 9 years of my life. I saw plainly then that, they were loving people, but as some sheep get lost some are lead astray. I welcome them into my home always, and share my experience as a child with their beliefs. I love the power of God because I never have to fight to prove this scripture or that scripture with them. I learned a long time ago that if Jesus is truly radiating off of you they will see that and kindly move on to normal conversations.

        I wish them well and that they are met with open and loving gestures, rather then violence, people yelling at them and people running away from them. I watched my Mother get boiling hot water thrown on her, as a women excused herself for a moment, to only come back with the pot of boiling water. Now the God I know, I believe He saw the wrong in what happened that day. And was not in the least bit pleased.

        God’s own people who were delivered out of bondage wined and complained, as they were in the very presence of God and was feed Manna! O what I would give for a portion of manna! Just saying yes Black is Black and right is right as wrong is wrong, but it is for God to judge, and for us to loving lead as Shepard’s. Shepard’s used staffs to gently keep their sheep together. NOT to beat them over the head, or cause them pain. for what good would that have done them?

        Why do you think God say’s love your enemy? Just asking out of curiosity?
        Because this is one portion I have to struggle with daily…

        Blessing to you, and again my comment was not meant to hurt

      2. I completely agree, Bryan. Have you ever read “The Kingdom of the Cults?” It’s a book that speaks about the beliefs of other religions of the world that are not Christ-based. It also gives good advice about witnessing to people of other religions. I highly recommend it. Sandy

        1. Yes! My friend was a big Walter Martin fan and bought me that book. I have perused from time to time. It is a solid apologetic resource that I would also recommend. Thanks for stopping by sandy!

  13. I live in a blue collar Hispanic neighborhood – predominantly Catholic and JW’s. In an average week I get two sets of JW’s and one from the charismatic Catholic church down the road. Most try to speak to me in Spanish too and I don’t speak it. Unlike you, I dismiss them quickly because the volume of these visitors is staggering to me.

    I also get an occasional Mormon. I did invite two in once because one of them told me, “we’re normal, just like you.” Which sounded like a challenge to me. They both left quickly after I asked them what happened to the golden tablets Joseph Smith dug up.

    If you don’t want them to bother you again, just leave their leaflets hanging on your door. They’ll assume you are out of town and won’t even knock.

  14. Interesting. A few months ago some Jehovah Witnesses came to my door. One of them was a young mother and for some reason I just wanted to talk with her instead of brushing them off.

    I didn’t know anything about their beliefs. I kinda kept checking the mental files to to try to remember, but nothing came up. As the prelims got finished I just started talking about Jesus, His Lordship, His Divinity, the Holy Spirit, eternity. Completely unaware that I was hitting on the major differences between their beliefs and orthodox Christianity.

    It was humbling when I looked up some information and talked with my pastor- to find out God had led the conversation without my being aware.

  15. This is a great post. Praise God for your faithfulness and love for those JWs. May God work in their hearts. We love it when JWs come to our door because we love them and want them to know the truth. They are lost and enslaved in a false religion and need to hear the gospel. But first we must pull the wig off the thing they are trusting in instead of Christ: their works. The last time they came to our door to give us literature, my husband had them on the run in less than 5 minutes. It went something like this:

    JW: We’re telling people about a conference that will be taking place in this area. It’ll teach you all about how to live a better life (or something like that)
    My husband: Are you Jehovah’s Witness?
    JW: Yes sir.

    What follows is a brief conversation about whether Jesus is God and their false translation of the Bible which quickly goes nowhere.

    My husband: So how can I get to heaven?
    JW: Well, you live as good a life as you can.
    Husband: You mean like follow the Ten Commandments?
    JW: Yes
    Husband: So have you obeyed the Ten Commandments?
    JW: Yes, I believe I have.
    Husband: Have you ever told a lie?
    JW: Hmmm. Wow. That’s an interesting question. Have I ever told a lie…Hmmmm. (he’s figuring out already that he’s in trouble)
    Husband: C’mon. We’ve all lied.
    JW: OK.. Yeah, I guess I have lied.
    Husband: Have you ever committed adultery?
    JW: Oh no. I haven’t done that!
    Husband: Jesus said that whoever looks at a woman to lust for her has committed adultery with her already in his heart.
    JW: (visibly sweating) Well sir, you have a nice day. We have to go now. (starts walking away)
    Husband: If Jesus is not God then you have no forgiveness of sins and you’ll end up in hell. I don’t want you to go to hell. Repent and trust in Christ!

    The law cuts right to the heart of their works based religion. It shows them quickly that it cannot be done. My husband has had 3 encounters with JWs in our neighborhood and they’ve all gone pretty much just like this—him chasing them as they run away and calling for them to repent of their false religion and trust in Christ because he loves them and doesn’t want to see them perish in their sins.

    1. This is a similar approach to “The Way of the Master” by Ray Comfort. It reflects that you can be a good person (and keep all the commandments, if you can) but unless Jesus is your Lord and Savior you are not saved. Sandy

  16. Ahhh Yea…Col. 1: 15, the created Jesus. I got hit with that one about two weeks ago. I had two ladies come by my house. Great conversation, except one of them got mad. Great Post…

    1. Praise Keith! Yeah the inject “other” into that verse there where it does not belong. Thanks for stopping by brother. One of them was getting frustrated, it didn’t help that his partner told him “You need to study up” towards the end.

  17. I’m a baby Christian and love learning from brothers and sisters, so this is so awesome to read, thank you. Ive had a few times when I have been called to share my faith and yeah… I totally rehashed the entire conversation in my brain and thought to myself, “Ughhh! Noo, why didnt you say this in response??” LOL! Ahhh… well, my hope is that as I study God’s Word more and more, that it moves so deeply and so passionately, that it will feel completely natural… having His Word written on my heart… yes please! 🙂

    1. Keep plugging in the faith MomMom! God speaks wisdom from the babes and reserves praise from them. Colossians 3:16-17 comes to mind for me. It is awesome that you are sharing your faith at all, many don’t even get that elementary point in their walk! Grace and peace to you!

  18. If you know anything about the develpment of Christian theology you will be aware that the Trinity was a church construct, as was the divinity of the character of Jesus, courtesy of the likes of Eusebius (who was an Aryan) at the prompting of Constantine.
    Investigate the archological Franciscan Father who dug around ‘Nazareth’.
    Interesting stuff….

    1. Thank you for provoking thoughts and dissenting opinion!
      I know a little about the development of Christian theology; The divinity of Jesus goes back to the early apostles and their writing:
      Early Christians taught Trinity

      The Council of Nicea is commonly misunderstood, as is the role of Constantine:

      As early as 111 AD, secular sources (Pliny The Younger) even affirmed these crazy Christians worshiped Jesus “as God.”

      Peace and grace sir.

      1. That there were Christians has never been indispute.
        However, if you are prepared to dig a little deeper you will find that no secular source, oft quoted as evidence for an historical Jesus ever used the name’Jesus’.
        Chrestus or occasionally Christus, yes, and the etymology of these words is well woth delving into.
        My ref. to Bagatti you deigned not to respond to. Unfortunate, for if you care to investigate his findings and several other archeological digs you will see that the village of Nazareth did not exist in the time that is claimed Jesus was born etc.
        Ergo, no Nazareth, no Jesus of Nazareth, which immediately puts doubt on the inerrancy of the Gospels.
        Truth does not need interpreting.
        Don’t take my word for it….do the research.
        Surely,anything worth following ‘religiously’ should be able to stand up for itself – be able to withstand thorough scrutiny?

        1. I wasn’t merely pointing to the fact “there were Christians,” The links I was providing showed that there were Christians who believed in the Trinity/deity of Jesus way before the 4th century claim. Don’t take my word for it…do the research. I agree, anything worth following should be able to withstand scrutiny.

          Pliny’s letters say this (from 111-113 AD):

          “They asserted, however, that the sum and substance of their fault or error had been that they were accustomed to meet on a fixed day before dawn and sing responsively a hymn to Christ as to a god, and to bind themselves by oath, not to some crime, but not to commit fraud, theft, or adultery, not falsify their trust, nor to refuse to return a trust when called upon to do so.”

          Are you saying because Pliny says “Christ” instead of “Jesus” it is invalid? Sorry, I don’t accept that argument.

          I’ll look into the Nazareth claim.

          Peace and grace!

      2. Yes, this is a translation.The term ‘Christ’ is not Jesus. It does not even come close to anything resembling Jesus and to suggest otherwise is disingenious.
        Accept or don’t, this is choice. It will not alter the truth. There is NO verifiable secular evidence of an historical Jesus as portrayed in the Bible.

        And yet again you choose not to comment on the Franciscan monk, Bagatti and the Nazareth scam.

      3. Apologies: I did not notice that you are still looking into the Nazareth claim.
        Let me know what you dig up (pun intended)
        Wiki is as good a place to start as any…then take it from there.

        Peace to you, too.

  19. Dear Chief:

    In obedience to Christ, I humbly ask you–what was your point in behaving that way? Were you seeking to declare and demonstrate your own faith? Were you genuinely seeking to give them opportunity to declare theirs? Why, to merely dismiss it because your mind was already “made up”? Were you seeking to share new insight, or were you just “spoiling for a fight”? Trusting that you were not just answering self-promotion, or looking to achieve the “Mr. Smarty Award,” where you will show the spirit of meekness from Jesus–learning and speaking by silence–you will do more to accomplish your goals of right service to GOD. As you probably know, unasked for explanations are called “excuses,” unasked for advice is called “interference”, and unasked for help is called “meddling”. Just as in prayer, asking grants permission to speak and respond. Be encouraged.

    1. Very well said! Michael! My point exactly, you just said it MUCH BETTER then I was able to, my medications make it hard at times to express what my heart is saying.

      Much love, grace and peace to you from heaven above. All in all you spoke the words of God!

    2. Kind sir we conversed politely for 30 mins. No one left offended, we shook hands and I believe I will see them again. Everything was done in a spirit of charity. I listened carefully to everything they had to say and even agreed with much of it. When they left it open for questions, then I asked a few questions and probed a few doctrinal points I know they held to. This is not my first JW encounter. I pray it won’t be my last. Thank you for your concern. Be encouraged.

  20. What a great story! I haven’t had many JW come to my door, but I often wondered what I would do if they did! Thanks for sharing, and he info graphic was very insightful!

    Thanks!

    Kieran

  21. How many well intending Christians miss an opportunity to witness to a “witness”! We have a local Jehovah Witness who actually looks forward to the debates and discussions with my husband. Like you, my husband uses the witness’ own Bible to challenge him with similar questions. I was always disappointed that the witness wouldn’t share or allow me to share, if my husband wasn’t around. I did respect that he felt he should be dealing with the head of the household, as I hold the same Biblical principle. So it was with great joy, one day, that I announced to my husband that I “had my own Jehovah witness”. A dear woman had knocked at our door to share the Watchtower with me and some verses from her Bible. We talked for a bit and she asked if she could continue to stop in from time to time. I welcomed her and just pray that God guide my toung should she stop again!

    (BTW, thanks for visiting my site!)

  22. I was born and raised as a JW. I’m not even to the point where I can find many words for the horrific influence it has had (and still has) on my life. I’m no longer a JW and haven’t been for over a decade…but still, I can’t escape it’s influence daily as my first daughter’s dad is a JW. To anyone who wonders if Jehovah’s Witnesses are a cult I can tell you they are. I lived it and I’m still living the effects. To a previous commenter who spoke of boiling water being thrown on her mother, that is really unfortunate. I had a gun drawn on me as a teenager when I was at someone’s door “witnessing”. It doesn’t change the fact that the JW organization is still a cult, regardless of how others receive them.

    1. My heart goes out to you! I’ve heard plenty of similar testimonies. I pray God uses your testimony as a beacon to awaken others from their slumber and draw them out of this cult. I know in time you will be used powerfully to reach others under this influence. Thanks for sharing.

  23. “What was pretty cool in retrospect was that I had just happened upon the above infographic from Challies site right before my encounter.”

    I hope you didn’t mistake that as a coincidence. Miracles get missed that way.

  24. Dear Chief, I have taken the time to read all the comments in reguards to your post. When I was Hit with this scripture, ~
    But we are all like an unclean thing, And all our righteousnesses are like filthy rags; We all fade as a leaf, And our iniquities, like the wind, Have taken us away. (Isaiah 64:6 NKJV)

    In the eye of God none are worthy! His loving attempt to watch His very own son die, was to put His heart out there for all to see. Now correct if Im wrong…. Was the sacrifice of our Savior not done for all humanity? As o recall his last plea for the world was ~
    Now as they led Him away, they laid hold of a certain man, Simon a Cyrenian, who was coming from the country, and on him they laid the cross that he might bear it after Jesus. And a great multitude of the people followed Him, and women who also mourned and lamented Him. But Jesus, turning to them, said, Daughters of Jerusalem, do not weep for Me, but weep for yourselves and for your children. For indeed the days are coming in which they will say, Blessed are the barren, wombs that never bore, and breasts which never nursed! Then they will begin to say to the mountains, Fall on us! and to the hills, Cover us! For if they do these things in the green wood, what will be done in the dry? There were also two others, criminals, led with Him to be put to death. And when they had come to the place called Calvary, there they crucified Him, and the criminals, one on the right hand and the other on the left. Then Jesus said, Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they do. And the people stood looking on. But even the rulers with them sneered, saying, He saved others; let Him save Himself if He is the Christ, the chosen of God. and saying, If You are the King of the Jews, save Yourself. And an inscription also was written over Him in letters of Greek, Latin, and Hebrew: THIS IS THE KING OF THE JEWS. Then one of the criminals who were hanged blasphemed Him, saying, If You are the Christ, save Yourself and us. But the other, answering, rebuked him, saying, Do you not even fear God, seeing you are under the same condemnation? And we indeed justly, for we receive the due reward of our deeds; but this Man has done nothing wrong. Then he said to Jesus, Lord, remember me when You come into Your kingdom. And Jesus said to him, Assuredly, I say to you, today you will be with Me in Paradise. Now it was about the sixth hour, and there was darkness over all the earth until the ninth hour. Then the sun was darkened, and the veil of the temple was torn in two. And when Jesus had cried out with a loud voice, He said, Father, into Your hands I commit My spirit. Having said this, He breathed His last. So when the centurion saw what had happened, he glorified God, saying, Certainly this was a righteous Man! And the whole crowd who came together to that sight, seeing what had been done, beat their breasts and returned. But all His acquaintances, and the women who followed Him from Galilee, stood at a distance, watching these things. (Luke 23:26-35, 37-49 NKJV Christ died for all humanity. I dont recall he laid out a certain decree of people! For all any one knows, maybe the man he took to paridise whit him that day was a JW! Saducies, Pharisees, Romans, Gentiles, ect, ect, He died for all mankind, not just for a select few. Jesus picked 12 men to follow him. Judas was not an accident right? For to say so, would be for you to say you know better then God himself.

    All you acomplished in this post was to draw out people of fowel heart. In the eye of God! None of us is worthy! He doesnt care what church any person goes to to! They all have there own misconception of who He is.

    Trust me i could do the very same thing and my ratings would jump to the celing! It is no secreat the world hates JW’s. Reality of truth is people have become fowel and judgemental, as worldly as they can get in the name of God. ~ And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. (Romans 12:2 NKJV)
    Jesus instructions before he asended to the disciples was for them to go out and make disciples. Not to sit on your butt and wait for people to come to you.
    I so not agree with any denominations for they are all tainted! But I cant help but smile every time i hear about a JW knocking on someones door. At least they are doing something. Have you ever thought of sharing your faith with a complete stranger? Is your love so strong for truth that you would knock on any door?
    I got to hand it to them, they never quit, nor walk away grumbling, and they mever stop. Now thats commitment!
    You can paste any scriptural refferance you want, when god looks at cults ~ definition of ~ 1.
    a particular system of religious worship, especially with reference to its rites and ceremonies.
    2.
    an instance of great veneration of a person, ideal, or thing, especially as manifested by a body of admirers: the physical fitness cult.
    3.
    the object of such devotion.
    4.
    a group or sect bound together by veneration of the same thing, person, ideal, etc.
    5.
    Sociol.  a group having a sacred ideology and a set of rites centering around their sacred symbols.
    6.
    a religion or sect considered to be false, unorthodox, or extremist, with members often living outside of conventional society under the direction of a charismatic leader.
    7.
    the members of such a religion or sect.
    8.
    any system for treating human sickness that originated by a person usually claiming to have sole insight into the nature of disease, and that employs methods regarded as unorthodox or unscientific.
    – adjective
    9.
    of or pertaining to a cult.
    10.
    of, for, or attracting a small group of devotees: a cult movie.

    All churches are guilty!

  25. The JW do not believe Jesus is God, the Almighty Jehovah God. I learned this from Pastor Ray, (his blog is raykliu.wordpress.com) to use these verses in the Book of Revelation that the JW’s bible has these same verses.

    http://www.watchtower.org/e/bible/index.htm

    (Rev.1:7-8), v.7 who was pierced ? Jesus. v.8 who is Alpha & Omega, the Almighty ? Jehovah God. Does this mean Jesus is the Almighty Jehovah God ? Yes.

    (Rev. 21:3-7), who is the Alpha & Omega in v.6 and God in v.7 ? Jehovah God.

    (Rev.22:12-13), v.12 who is coming soon ? Jehovah God. v.13 who is the Alpha & Omega ? Jehovah God.

    (Rev.22:20), v.20 who is coming soon ? Lord Jesus is coming soon.

    Conclusion: Jesus is the Alpha & Omega, Jesus is the Almighty Jehovah God, Jesus is coming soon.

    I tried this on 2 JW who came to my door. They were speechless ! I told them Christianity is all about Jesus and salvation of the cross. If Jesus is not God, then his death on the cross cannot save us, that would mean no salvation. I challenged them to check the original text of John 1:1, Jesus is God, not “a god”. I shared with them, Ephesians 2:8-9, salvation is not by works, salvation is by faith in Jesus Christ alone.

    They asked me where does the bible say Jesus was crucified on a cross, they said Jesus was tied to a pole. I told them it is historical fact that the Romans in those days crucified the worst criminals on a cross. I told them to go check the Romans history.

    I am going to publish a post on the Trinity this Saturday, my blog is, jellybeanyee.wordpress.com

  26. Loved it Chief. Carry on with the great work. But somehow I think they’re going to “red card” your address now. They’ll write you up in their little black book of heretics (according to them) to avoid. God bless. Darryl.

  27. Further to my comment of March 14, here is Paul Washer re what to ask and talk to the JW about.

    The Scriptures are 1 Corinthians 15:3 and Galatians 1:9.

    I am going to publish my post on the Trinity today, jellybeanyee.wordpress.com

  28. I am terribly sorry. I thought only the link of the Youtube video would appear in the comment, I didn’t expect this big youtube image. Please feel free to delete the comment, I wouldn’t mind.

  29. Re my comments on March 14 & 17, I have changed my address from jellybeanyee to sunsetfeeling (sunset feeling). sunsetfeeling.wordpress.com

  30. wow, i am a baby, a child of 64, and Bryan your words:> God can use the fumbling stuttering words of any humble saint who desires to please Him and be faithful to His WordYo, Joe, where you been, wha’chu been waiting for?, and now that you’re here, I’m gonna hook you up>
    I mean no disrespect in dialect’n my Saviour as a Jersey guy but here are blog after blog after blog of daily insights and prayers and seekers and finders all in the name of the only hope we have, Jesus.
    Thanks
    joe

  31. Chief of Least,

    Thank you for liking my post Songs in the NIght. I liked this post also and say a hearty amen to what you shared about the Trinity and witnessing to the J.W. My husband is good at witnessing to the cult members. Let me share this with you regarding their zeal. One Saturday morning a knock came to my door. I didn’t open it. Imagine my surprise and yes admiration when I looked out of the window and saw a woman in a wheel chair and a woman with a seeing eye dog leaving. I don’t recall if they were J.W.’s or mormons. Wow! That they would put their handicaps aside to go to win converts to a cult. How many Christians would do the same for the truth?

  32. NONE! Christians are selfish, selfloving, selfrightious, worldly cults themselves! And I am totally pretty sure no one on earth has the authority to save anyones souls! My heart aches for all of you professing Christians! No wonder there are so many split churches, so many differant churches! None of you have a clue of anything about God, His Son, or the Holy Spirit! No wonder God was sickened the first time around and flooded the world! I could about imagine how heart broken he is now! It is because of people like you we have so many, drug addicts, suicides, murders, child molesters! And the list goes on and on! I find my Lord tugging at my heart telling me to find some love and compassion for you all. But right now I beg for his forgiveness, for if it is people like you with black hearts doing the teaching, then it makes perfect sence we are living in the end times and the world with most its people belong to Satan! Narrow is the path and FEW WILL FIND IT!

    Father give me your heart this day to love these sinners as you did the day you died for ALL MANKIND! Right now people who write such things sicken me and I want no part of them. You tell me I must love my enemies, but daily Christians, sickin me and become my enemies! How I hate their arrogance! And innorance!
    When you said Father forgive them for they know not what they do! Was the most forth seeing truth ever! And was pure truth you were and are the Holy Son of God!

    Look upon me as the thieft who claimed his love for you as he was dieing beside you. And in all your pain and agony, loved him and took him to be with you in paridise!

    FORGIVE ME for what I feel about the people of this world. For all have fallen short of your glory, and I myself today is guilty of falling hard. Today as I pray that when the sick and inflicted, look upon me it is NOT a christian they see, but a true sinner who has been saved by your mercy, impowered by your Grace, And a love in my heart planted, lives, and grows by the very same heart as yours gifted through your Holy Spirit.

    Strike me down O great and mighty one for my anger towards your creation, for this very minute my heart is as stale as theirs! I can only sit here and cry, for it is true many will perish! And if I can not find the compassion for these, then do not allow me into your kingdom for I am Not Worthy! Give me your heart Lord, for mine is shattered by such unholiness!

    As easter aproches many of these who call others cults, and judge them as if they were as smart as you. Will take their childten to church then give them all easter baskets and send them all out to find stupid colored eggs! What in heaven does that have to do with you?

    My family and I will not be a part of this world, not because we are JW’s. But because we shall stick to what your holy word says and remember the sacrifice and the resurrection in Your Fathers Glory! We are of no denomination, we are followers and teachers of your Love by action. And by your strength only for I am nothing wirhout you! That by the time I am finished writhing this, my heart will be filled with remorse, and I will as Job find the honor to pray for them.
    Your Servant Always RJ Da Warrior

  33. When I was a baby Christian I studied with JWs for 6 mths. I didn’t know my Bible well and was beginning to be persuaded with their logic and doctrines, but something didn’t feel right when I began hiding my worship of Jesus. I began to study the Bible fervently and discovered some major discrepancies. I stopped the studies, went back to my church, and felt the presence of God more powerfully than ever before. The JWs that I have met are some of the nicest people I know, and even though we differ in our theology, I respect their beliefs and their passion for proclaiming their faith.

    1. The JW maybe very nice people but that wouldn’t get them into heaven. Their theology has no salvation because they reject the Savior Jesus. They are deceived and lost and they are working zealously to mislead people to be lost too.

      Aren’t you glad you went back to your church and have the joy of experiencing God ? Would you tell those very nice JW of your experience and help them to find God and be saved ?

      I am not against the JW, they are not our enemies, Satan is. Satan is using them to work against God, to preach the heresy to reject the deity of God the Son Jesus and reject God’s plan of salvation through Jesus. We should pray for their deliverance.

      1. Satan is working through you right now! I would rethink what comes put of your mouth, as I hear nothing Godly in it! Theology is mans point of view of what the interpretation God is saying. I find it safe to say you will be one of the many who will be screaming Lord, Lord did I not prophesy in your name! And He will say to you… Away from me for the things you did were unauthorized. Jeses rebuked one of his own chosen disciples for falsely claiming he knew more then then the Lord!

        He picked judas, well knowing his purpose, I find it safe to say he uses you for the same deception.

        God is omnipresant, if you are not feeling him daily, I would grab my bible and start from the beginning, and learn who it is you think you know so much about.

        I for one do not have this issue, and I do not belong to no worldly church. I belong to my Savior, whom I feel every second of every day, most of the time lately I feel him protecting me from people like you!

        Grow up! It’s obvious you know nothing about God! But you and Satan seem to be pretty good buds!

Leave a Reply

