One Year Ago Today….Happy Birthday, Gideon

One year ago today

A mighty warrior born

With eyes wide open

And flame on his head

the hope of enemies torn

One year ago today

the fruit of covenant born

A king at his side

A gavel in hand

Old wisdom battled and worn

One year ago today

A blessed baby born

I beamed all the day

She laughed til she cried

Deep blue stones calm as the morn

One year ago today my second son, Gideon Bryce Daniels, was born. My wife and I are so blessed to have two healthy beautiful boys and a wealth of extended family around us. When I say “wealth” I mean it in the better sense: We are very “wealthy” people. And trust me, it has nothing to do with my teacher pay (Rick Scott will make certain of that). It has everything to do with the abundance of God’s gracious blessings to our family.

If some of the imagery in the little poem above is not registering for you, this article may help. It’s a post I wrote about “Naming A Child” that explains the reasons we chose “Josiah” and “Gideon” as our sons’ names.

God bless you and keep you this Lord’s Day,

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

22 thoughts on “One Year Ago Today….Happy Birthday, Gideon”

  1. Right on! Real wealth isn’t here but in the Lord, faith and your treasures in Heaven which can’t be thieved. Happy birthday, Gideon!

  2. Wealth indeed! If we had piles of gold, but did not know God nor appreciate His blessings, we are poor in heart and spirit. I am so blessed by God–especially with health. I suppose that is a photo of the two blessings at the top of your blog? They are just precious. I know you love them, and it’s hard to imagine that God loves them more than you, isn’t it? (that is such an innocent photo at the top, it always makes me smile πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

