Tim Tebow and How To Be A Bad Christian Witness

Some thought that may pertain to the recent phenomenon of LinSanity!

Chief of the least

He is the super football hero poster boy for adulating young boys and fawning middle-aged women. He’s a lightning rod of criticism for the skeptical media and scorning masses. He’s a flamboyant winner who wears his faith and emotions on his sleeve.

He’s now 6-1 7-1 as a starting QB and crowned as the comeback King of the NFL.

Tim Tebow is actually not the primary subject of this post (I know the title is a bit subversive.) We are. More specifically, “we” as in: The Christians who may put Tebow-like characters on a lofty pedestal OR on unwarranted blast are the ones who need to heed our “Christian witness”.

You could replace “Tebow” with “Bieber” or “Newton” and it could have the same effect.

The way we could be potentially bad “Christian Witnesses” would be by publicly mishandling very public Christian personas such as Tebow. There are two ditches…

View original post 778 more words

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

4 thoughts on “Tim Tebow and How To Be A Bad Christian Witness”

  1. I would fully agree with this article (or blog…). It’s so true that we tend to worship people who are doing things we can’t do in places we can’t go and proclaim the name of God with a boldness we can’t muster. But the truth of the matter is that, as you said, we’re all the same people. David fell. Solomon fell. Peter fell…need I say more? I’ve never worshipped Tebow, and quite frankly I didn’t really have any clue who he was until everyone started mocking him for crying after losing that game, ruining the chances of an undefeated season to set a new record for UF. But it wasn’t long after that incident that Tebow started showing up all over the media with God, Jesus, and religion plastered all around him that I really began to take notice. I watched him intently to see what kind of man he would be and what reputation he would give my Lord and Savior. Turns out, they can’t find a thing to trip him up on…but that’s all I saw! The media trying to find SOMETHING to destroy him. To kill his rapport with the masses by turning him into”just another hypocritical ‘Christian'” so they could mock our God yet again. But they still can’t, and Tebow continues to use sound wisdom in his speech and actions. He’s not perfect. Not by a long shot, but the guy is respectable and I respect him! I started telling everyone in the Christian circles to stop hating on him and immediately start covering him with constant prayer, because let’s face it: Tebow is in a position to show the world that Christ isn’t an excuse to sin and feel guiltless after a few days – He’s an escape from sin and the ABILITY to live out a strong and honorable life. So I pray for Tebow. I pray that he keeps his eyes on Jesus and when he falls…he picks himself right back up and keeps on going!

  2. I don’t really watch sports but I know of Tebow and the “controversy” that surrounds him. Good article and I agree with the comments of wingman646.

Leave a Reply

