Herniated Discs and The Delight Of The Father

Turns out herniated discs are about as fun as a fart in a wet-suit.

On and off back pain from the past few months culminated this past weekend with sharp stabs to my lower back when I walk and a dull firm ache even when I sit still. When I went to the Dr. today I was informed a slipped lower disc was the cause of my considerable chagrin. The Dr. signed me up for an MRI but when I calculated how much I’d be paying out of pocket for it I respectfully declined.

Though I have two little boys who demand regular WWE Smackdowns and I coach two sports I have no clue as to how my back got into such a predicament. This past week I’ve been walking like an arthritic 120 year old trying to do the robot. I’m glad my source of pain has been entertainment for someone somewhere, maybe.

Herniated disc pain usually goes away on its own after a few weeks; only 10 percent require surgery. I’m praying mine won’t. I’m thankful for the health God has granted to me over the course of my life. After years of competitive football and being a reckless manboy I have never broken a bone, had major surgery, or incurred any major medical expenses.

I am especially thankful for familial blessings God grants that seem to be healing agents in and of themselves. After the particularly tough day at work (mainly due to the severe back pain and unforeseen medical expenses) I sat down on my recliner with my almost 1 year old son, Gideon, in lap. My three year old, Josiah, crawled up with us and my two lover boys commenced to laugh and kiss one another for the next 10 minutes or so (see my site banner photo for a sample). As their father I delighted in the whole experience. My son’s birth an irrepressible joy in me.

A little discomfort pales in comparison to such amazing graces.

I am also thankful no matter how bad, good, wise, dumb, weak or strong we may be or feel at any given moment, this is true: In Christ, we are never more or less than a son or daughter of Father God. If Christ’s blood was shed for us then the Father looks at us, in spite of all the entanglements of sin and selfishness, and sees a perfect spotless Son whom He is eternally pleased in (1 John 3:1).

God delights in His own glory, amen! He delights in Christ, absolutely!. But here is the biblical reality that makes me supremely uncomfortable almost daily. If I am in Christ, then…God…delights…in me (Zep 3:17). Yes, it is through His grace. Yes, I deserve wrath on my best days.

But the work and person of Christ has now replaced eternal disdain with Fatherly delight. Sworn arch enemies have been made adopted sons and daughters (Gal 4:6).

And a million bad days and herniated discs can’t hold back the contagious joy God has over His own children.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

28 thoughts on “Herniated Discs and The Delight Of The Father”

  1. I had a herniated disc a couple of years ago. I was down for the count. I tried to take care of it “naturally” through physical therapy, and then some injections to the spine. After 5 months I couldn’t take it any longer and had surgery. I’m not sure about that 10 percent number, but if your disc is actually herniated, you likely won’t be pain free in a couple of weeks. If the disc is only bulging, then maybe. Anyway, I wouldn’t wish a herniated disc on the worst of enemies (especially since we’re suppose to love our enemies!). Hope you heal quickly!

    1. Thank you! Well, he said it was probably a herniated disc, (it may be bulging). Without the MRI he can’t know for sure. I do know if the same pain persists after two weeks I will be eating the cost and getting the MRI. I had to wake my wife up to help put my shoes on this morning….

      1. Yeah, it’s pretty humbling. My wife had to help me with shoes too. It makes you feel like your 80 or something. There were some days the pain was so intense I couldn’t pull myself up off the floor, which makes doing stuff in the bathroom pretty tricky! I’ll entreat the Lord for mercy on you!

  2. I recently herniated 2 disks in my back and it was very, very painful! In time, and with lots of meds. I did get back on my feet! Hang in there! I also related to this post because I have a one year old son and a two year old son, and I loved the way you described your kids, and also God’s love for us, and the way He delights in us as we do in our kids!

  3. By His stripes, we are healed!
    You’ll be fine in no time!

    I’ve always wondered if your banner photo was your sons..such beautiful eyes 😛

    After years of competitive football and being a reckless manboy..ha ha ha ah ha ha ha @ reckless manboy..funny!

  4. I have occasional bouts with back pain, and NEVER go to the doctor–I’m extremely un-enamoured with the medical and pharmaceutical industries. My motto is (Sherry hates this) “I’ll go to the doctor if they have to carry me in, AND I’m unconscious.”
    I have stretching and calesthenics I do that almost always help with back problems, but in all cases, the problem eventually goes away. I also pray/praise a lot, and deny deny deny the pain! Let me know if your interested in my exercises. They work!

  5. Love your blog brother Daniel! I especially love your quote “If I am in Christ, then…God…delights…in me (Zep 3:17). Yes, it is through His grace. Yes, I deserve wrath on my best days.” AMEN!

    So glad you are enjoying OABCHURCH BLOG. Hope you visit again for our continue series on servanthood and may
    our Lord bless and keep you!

  6. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I have been dealing with a herniated disk for the better part of a year. Do not lose hope it does get better, although it takes a while. There are going to be bad days and good days. Focus on what you can do and not on what you can’t. I have to learn a whole lot of humility throughout the process, but in the end the humility has helped to make me a better man.

  7. So far, I’ve missed out on this ailment. I have my share of broken bones, blown knees, pulled-back muscles, tennis elbow, etc., to know that I truly am 50 years old! With each ailment, I think of the future blessings of hope we have in glory with bodies that will never, no, never need surgery again!!!

    It does make us thankful for Christ!

    Romans 8:18 For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

  8. Pingback: Chief of the least

Leave a Reply

