Why You No Laugh At Me No More? (The Married Truth)

From the prestigious e-pages of the novelty weblog “Doghouse Diaries.” Single men, it’s the truth (can I get a married man witness?):

But the real truth is: I  don’t deserve such a caring, passionate, funny, and beautiful woman as my wife, Jessica Lee Daniels. I am daily amazed at how she loves and cares for her three little boys, er, two boys and one man.

I’m proud of her. On top of being my very best friend in the world and the most passionate person I know:

She’s a hardworking stay at home mom who gives meticulous care to our two sons, manages and organizes our household, and works as a booker for an insulation sales company from our home office/bedroom. Because of my lack of mechanical skill she probably stresses more about household maintenance than any wife should (to my shame I know). On top of all this, she has recently helped take on a weekly urban ministry in a rough local neighborhood AND is organizing and revamping the young children’s ministry at our church…and all this WITH dinner duty to boot.

I’d like to take this opportunity to publicly apologize to her for every unpicked-up towel, abandoned coffee cup, and loitering pair of shoes I have been responsible for. I have taken for granted her indescribable inherent worth time and time again. I have acted like a spoil rotten little boy more than once for long stretches in our marriage.

So I am thankful for God’s gracious provisional help-meet to me. She is a blessing and a compliment to my many weaknesses as a man. I am learning daily all the practical implications of loving a wife as “Christ loved the church” (Eph 5). I pray I am much better at it ten, twenty, and fifty years down the road of matrimony than I am now.

So men, give your wife a pass if she no longer laughs at your tired middle school level jokes anymore. They were never that funny to begin with and she was just probably giving you a mercy laugh anyways.

But still try to make her smile everyday. She deserves it for putting up with you.

I’m convinced of this: Above every great man is a better woman lifting him up to her level with prayer, service, and unconditional love.

I love you babe.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

32 thoughts on “Why You No Laugh At Me No More? (The Married Truth)”

  1. Bravo! You are the man! If you ever let my wife read this I will have to slay you. Good stuff…we men should constantly be reminded that our wives are the better half.

  2. My wife don’t laugh at my jokes no more. She’s gone deaf! I told my doctor about it. And he said, “Go home, find out at what distance she can’t hear and let me know”.
    So I got home, opened the front door and yelled: “Hi, honey, I’m home. What’s for dinner?” No response! So I go down the hall a few meters and repeat the question. Again, no answer. I stood at the kitchen door and asked again what’s for dinner. No reply. Finally I went up behind my wife and put my arms around her. “Hi, honey, I’m home. What’s for dinner?”

    She turns to me and says, “For the fourth and last time, you deaf old coot, chicken!”

  3. On a serious note, the next greatest blessing that God has given me next to salvation itself is my wife. She is tailor made for me. I wouldn’t trade her for any other woman in the world. And honestly I don’t think any other woman would have stuck with me this long, knowing what an impossible case I am. But it is all of grace. “A prudent wife is from the Lord”! [Prov 19:14]

    And the longer we’ve lived together the better I am beginning to get a glimpse into the mystery of the union between Christ and HIS Bride the Church! All the praise to God alone! 

  4. Great post! My wife and I have discussed this. Once, years ago, we saw an episode of “Mad about You.” The husband was goofing around much in the same manner as I often do, and my wife, watching the TV, was laughing. I said, “See — you laugh at him, but not me when I do the same stuff.” She pointed at the TV where the wife sat with a bored expression on her face. “Ah, But his WIFE doesn’t think he’s funny,” said my wife.
    It’s just a rule — husbands can’t be funny to their own wives! 😉

  5. Actually, I love my husband of 23 years sense of humor… He’s quite funny and it keeps me from taking life way too seriously… after all “Laughter” is the “Best” medicine…

    Thank you for this great post… and being so obviously appreciative of your wife…

    Can all the ladies say Amen!!!… 🙂

    (Sharing!!!)

  6. Love this post! If I could find someone like you, I’d stop being single (and I’m almost 60 and never been married but been through enough relationships to know that you are a gem). Your wife is a very lucky woman and you are a very lucky man to have her. You’ve given me hope that maybe (and it’s a big maybe) before I died I might still be able to find someone like you. Oh, by the way, I LOVE the ending of the YouTube video!!!!!!!! Did you notice how much more complicated the man’s dream was then the woman’s dream? It really doesn’t take a lot to please a woman (well, some women…) but well now, men? It just tires me out thinking about having to live up to some men’s expectations. Sigh . . . . . . . . . . 😉

  7. I’ve had young women ask me what to look for in a husband and I always say the same thing: Marry the man who makes you laugh the most. If you can laugh you can get through anything. Okay that’s not very “spiritual” advice, but it worked for me, and God is full of joy so it makes sense to look for someone who is full of joy too because that’s where true joy comes from (:

  8. Great post – loved the cartoon. I have to say that my wife still laughs at me; but normally what I do, rather than the amazingly funny things I say (that she doesn’t notice). For example, I tipped a large pot of diluted white paint over me and the floor of our new lounge the other day – fortunately it was the ‘underfloor’. She kinda laughed. Then she cleared up all the mess. THERE’S a wife for you. Wives are truly incredible.

    I think I remember her laughing at my jokes… Ho hum. I think making her smile every day is a great piece of advice.

  9. I agree completely! My wife is definitely my better half and how she puts up with my laziness and insensitivity at times is only by the grace of God. God knew that we men were just too simple to carry on without women in our lives.

  10. I just have to ask you…we claim Christianity as well. I found out last year in councelling that my husband doesn’t find me attractive anymore and we haven’t had intimate relations in a little over 12 years in our 18 year marriage. We live together and love each other but something is a lie.
    Can I get your opinion about this?
    Do you think we could converse more?
    If not, just ignore, I will retreat without a fuss.
    Lois

Leave a Reply

