I’m a Winklevoss Twin; God is Faithful

I empathize with the Winklevoss Twins.

No, I’m not born into ridiculous wealth and I have not received ridiculously more wealth riding on the heels of Mark Zuckerberg.

But the sentiments of one of the jaded Winklevoss twins from “The Social Network” resonates with me. Bewildered at the overnight growth of “TheFacebook” (650 people registered the first day) he says, “If I was a drug dealer I couldn’t give free drugs away to six hundred and fifty people in one day!”

I feel him.

When surveying the litany of part-time jobs I held throughout college the one I was probably most ill fitted for was appliance salesman. I couldn’t give free washers and dryers away if I tried. I’m not a closer by any sense of the word and I don’t have that wheelin’ and dealin’ killer instinct. Some people could sell ice to an Eskimo, I’d find it difficult to give away free snuggies to one. On the job, I was there to politely answer any pertinent questions and I tried to stay relatively knowledgable about the product, but employee of the month I was not. In the end, I figured if they really wanted to make a major purchase, they’d do it.

This natural disposition doesn’t necessarily serve me well in the spiritual realm. Mentally I go through a thousand ways a ministry opportunity could fail before I step into it. Too many times, I make baseless assumptions about people’s spiritual state: they’re not ready for the gospel, it’s not God’s timing, it’s not an appropriate situation. I’m not saying I never share the gospel, I am saying my preconceptions get in the way of sharing much more than they should.

This shouldn’t be.

Especially as one called to give free grace away to those who are dead in their sins (Eph 2:3-5). Sharing the gospel is not like talking a dog off a meat truck, it’s more like resuscitating a drown victim with life-giving air.

This is one of the many areas my life doesn’t seem to match up to the biblical reality. And this is where I am thankful that the underlying (and overlying!) thread in biblical reality is not me, but God and His glorious grace through Jesus Christ (Eph 1:6).

I’m reminded of the verse my spiritual mentor shared with me in my early Christian walk. They were the words that had kept him going when the fires of life’s diversity were raging or the fruit of ministry seemed wanting.

Now may the God of peace himself sanctify you completely, and may your whole spirit and soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. He who calls you is faithful; He will surely do it. (1 Thess 5:23-24)

Though I am certain there are many areas in my life the Holy Spirit will continue to convict, encourage, and change, I can thank God for this: His mission, His purpose, His calling is not predicated on my impotent ability to muster up faithfulness or boldness, but rather His infinite ability to call and equip whom He pleases while working all things according to how He pleases (Eph 1:11).

My “natural disposition” must bow down to the infinite purposes of a Sovereign King.

Doubt be damned.

And it will be.

And it is.

He is faithful.

He will do it.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

12 thoughts on “I’m a Winklevoss Twin; God is Faithful”

  1. Great and timely post! It subtly highlights the security Reformed theology gives us in evangelism, I think. I am glad that it is not all on me when I share Christ. Otherwise I would always feel like a failure. Thankfully it is God’s discretion and ultimately God’s choice and power which works and makes our efforts (which originate in him as well [eph. 2:10]!) to be successful.

    The personable and honest nature of your blog is always refresher coming from my own often woefully rigid scholastic-driven blog.

    1. Thanks Josh! Yes, I am definitely thankful for God’s personal attention to draw His sheep to Himself. We may sow a seed, He makes it grow and will reap a harvest of souls in due time. The world needs scholastic driven blogs too; if I had more time to study I’d devote more of the blog to those scholarly subjects..

  2. Hi,
    This is a wonderful article. It is a good thing when we remind ourselves that it is not all about us and what we can do but about Jesus and what he can do through us, if we let him. We do not have talent or the money to do those things that we are called to do. It is his grace that shines in us and through us that gives us that ability to do the impossible.
    I have enjoyed your blog posting. It was very uplifting.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

  3. The cool part is it is in failure we learn and grow; and better yet when we are weak it’s much easier to rely on His grace than upon what we perceive as our strength:)
    “I glory in my weakness that the power of Christ might rest upon me!”

  4. Thank you for the post. I, too, have a similar disposition and in all honesty, fear letting people know how they could be saved. By God’s grace, I am, but I really need to gain some courage and share the good word.

  5. Interesting! Isn’t it a shame that people will so quickly reject the gift that Jesus paid for with His own blood? Isn’t it a shame that we Christians freely give Christmas gifts to our unsaved friends, but have such a hard time offering the greatest gift? The enemy is alive and good at distracting us with fear.

Leave a Reply

