The Deathbed Confession Of A Great Doctor

On the organization of the theological seminary at Princeton university in 1812, Dr. Archibald Alexander was unanimously chosen as the leading professor. As the number of students increased and other professors were added to the faculty, he was enabled to direct his attention more particularly to the department of pastoral and polemic theology. He labored with zeal and success within the halls of Christian academia till his death, a period of nearly forty years. His powers both for pulpit oratory and polemic exposition were considered extraordinary in his day. His work “Outlines of Moral Science” earned this praise from the Westminster Review: “a calm, clear stream of abstract reasoning, flowing from a thoughtful, well-instructed mind, without any parade of logic, but with an intuitive simplicity and directness which gives an almost axiomatic force.”

He had an exquisite intellect.

After Dr. Alexander had labored as a preacher of Christ for sixty years, and a professor of divinity for forty, he died on the 22nd October, 1851. On his death-bed, he was heard to say to a  friend:

“All my theology is reduced to this narrow compass—Jesus Christ came into the world to save sinners.”

Moral of the story? Don’t be enamored with the great minds who may argue for or against Christianity. Be enamored with the sinless Savior who saves worthless sinners (2 Cor 5:21).

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

2 thoughts on “The Deathbed Confession Of A Great Doctor”

  1. I believe that I have reached that point in my walk with Christ. I have been enamoured with great theological questions/debates, probably deeper and more inquisitive than I should have even gone. I like how Paul states it in Romans…paraphrasing, how deep is the mind of God?!? We cannot possibly know some things, yet we reach for them through intellect like we have actually grasped something, when we still don’t know crap.

    I desire to know nothing but Christ, and Christ crucified. That means I really don’t care how old the earth is or whether there is a 7 year tribulation or not…this is just where I have gotten to in my walk. Hopefully it makes me a better follower of Christ.

    1. Good thoughts Stu! That 1 Cor 2:2 revelation needs to always be before us! The deep thing is still Christ’s substitutionary death on the cross, not secondary theological issues…

Leave a Reply

