Why I Write/Have a Blog (in no particular order)

1. I enjoy it. I know, not too profound. But for some odd reason, I find writing cathartic. When I get lost in a verse, a thought or a sentence it feels like a natural process, an outworking of some inward stirrings. Some guys golf or hunt to unwind. I write.

I don’t do it because it’s a duty (like grading papers), I do it because it is like throwing a football or drinking a good cup of coffee to me.

I’ve never been into journaling my thoughts by pen, and that is partly because I have the handwriting skill of a drunk five-year old. Seriously, “handwriting” was the only subject I got a “U” in (for Un-satisfactory) during kindergarten. So my blog serves as a functional online journal for me, a record of my weekly musings I would otherwise not keep.

2. It blesses me. Really, if there were no audience or blog platform I would likely still write. In my early college years I once began an essay on “Jesus-The Bridegroom’s” relationship with His “church-bride” from an ancient Jewish cultural perspective. This wasn’t a class assignment but simply an area of interest. About one hundred single spaced typed pages later, my concentration began to taper off. No one has read the paper in full and I probably will never share it with anyone (some of it is poorly written and theologically weak).

But writing sometimes brings a deeper joy than the surface level satisfaction of reason #1.

In my college writing project I learned a lot in my studying about ancient Jewish culture, the book of Song of Solomon and even eschatology. So I was blessed to come to a deeper understanding of the Bridegroom’s radical love for His church (me) and how He desires a deep relationship with us.

As St. Augustine said, “I count myself one of the number of those who write as they learn and learn as they write.”

3.To bless others. I always hope my sometimes ignorant musings will bless someone somewhere in someway. I don’t want to keep my light under a bushel if anyone may benefit. It can be borderline arrogant to presume I have something to say or that I deserve to speak into another’s life.

I struggle with that sometimes.

But when another gives positive feedback or an encouraging word it does affirm that I am not just speaking to a wall or typing into an inanimate object. And, as CS Lewis once stated, “One compliment can last me a whole month.” It is a sober reminder that there are souls on the other line, and it is a humbling endeavor to communicate a message that may edify them by the grace of God.

I know it sounds unspiritual if I don’t overtly say I write “for the glory of God.”  Though it is true, in my opinion that phrase is beginning to get overworn in contemporary Christian language. I believe when humans delight in the common graces of God (writing, sports, kids, etc.) for what they are, then God’s glory is in view in a distinctly beautiful way. In other words, instead of saying it in an obligatory manner (“for the glory of God!”), it is better to just show it.

So for my own joy and blessing, and for the good of others and glory of God, I try to faithfully maintain a blog.

Besides, it’s much easier on my pride than staring daily at the inebriated scrawlings of a kindergartener.

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

23 thoughts on “Why I Write/Have a Blog (in no particular order)”

  1. I love your reasons for wanting to blog! Many of the reasons you stated are the exact reason I decided to start blogging almost a year a few months ago. I really enjoy going online and reading articles. Thanks for sharing your blog with us!!

  2. Love the Augustine quote. When Christians raise an eyebrow at my choice to write (which is rare) I bring to their attention the extremely rich historywriting has had in Christianity, including the bible itself.

    1. Yeah, why any Christian would object to another Christian attempting to thoughtfully air their thoughts out is beyond me. If anything we need more voices calling out the darkness, not less.

  3. Hello Mr. Daniels!
    I REALLY like your reasons for writing a blog. Those are the same as mine and it is refreshing to find another ‘like mind’ in the blog-o-sphere! Including the interest in Reformed Theology. 😀

    Thanks for your stop at my blog today. You are so right, one compliment lasts a L-O-N-G time. 🙂
    Blessings, ~Mrs. R

  4. Thank you for ‘liking’ my post. I write because it helps me work through my jumbled thoughts. I say write, thought it should be type, I can barely read my own notes after a sermon when I’m trying to puzzle them out later. I love that while I am writing for my own means, yet finding others doing the same, about the same passion.

  5. I write to find peace the same way. I read theology for the same reasons. I’m currently reading a really neat book by Phillip Yancey called “What’s So Amazing About Grace?” Talk about a good writer who is SMART. Holy wow. Anyway, I look forward to reading more of your stuff.

  6. I am very interested in alot of the stuff in this post. Scripture study is one of my favorite things. I love viewing Scripture from an early Christian perspective because I believe they had a fuller grip on the Jewish meanings.

  7. I enjoy writing about what God speaks to me from his word. He shows me things that blow my mind. I have always kept a journal of my quiet times with the Lord previous to the computer on spiral bound note pads. They are hard to store and edit. So I love my Logos bible software and my blog site. I have always wanted to publish, but for now, blogging is teaching me how to write better. Maybe one day there will be something out there of mine on the shelves, we will see.

  8. Bryan, I read your information about your liking to write. I feel somewhat the same. Sir Francis Bacon wrote the following with which I totally agree:

    “Reading maketh a full man; conference a ready man; and writing an exact man”

    Since I could not remember that person who gave the quote because of my age, I look up part of the quote on the internet.

    You might like to look this information up.

    http://grammar.about.com/od/60essays/a/studiesessay.htm

    Of Studies, by Francis Bacon

    Thomas Clark – Phil. 3:14
    http://www.bibleresourceman.com

  9. I appreciated you “liking” my blog so I decided to drop by yours. This post caught my attention since one of those writer-types too. I enjoyed what you shared. It’s good to connect with others stirred by God’s creativity in us! Keep the vision!

  10. Glad to connect with you! I also find blogging a way to glorify God and unpack ideas I have. I wish more people interacted with the ideas though! Thanks for checking out my blog!

  11. Reblogged this on One Bondservant's Diary and commented:
    There are many many days when I wonder why I keep doing this. It often seems like chasing wind but it does ave a purpose. I really like Bryan’s summary. Lord guide me to seek the presence and counsel of the Holy Spirit in each and every blogging keystroke.

Leave a Reply

