Tallahassee (Alzheimer’s Valentine)

[I wrote this shortly after being the caretaker for my late grandmother for a year. It’s not meant to take a heavy subject (Alzheimer’s) lightly, rather it’s an observation of the strange effects this debilitating disease has on the mind (and family)]

This Inn is noisy but nice, the best part is it’s free; Watching Judge Mathis and World War reruns With mixed and strange company; Sure I’ll dance with that fella, only after I hide my purse; Cause they’ll take all my money my lipstick my ID my bearings my family or worse

I just want Tallahassee, show me the road to take

It’s not too far a walk from here, just another blank memory away

I- 10 and heartache can lead me I know

Point me east young friend, and I’ll recall where to go

My mother my daughter my grandson my brother

Whoever the heck you are

Take me back to the hills of my Tally

I know that it’s not very far

But really I must get back, my family is worried and sick; There is hair that needs cutting, shaggy dogs that need loving, Grab the Buick, they all need me quick; I miss the ‘ole white church next to Cobb The first time I got born again; I left a good group of fat goats and old hens And a hard lovin’, cussin’ Marine of a man

I just want Tallahassee, show me the road to take

It’s not too far a walk from here, just another blank memory away

I- 10 and heartache can lead me I know

Point me east young friend, and I’ll recall where to go

My mother my daughter my grandson my brother

Whoever the heck you are

Take me back to the hills of my Tally

I know that it’s not very far

I remember the old colored widow, with fresh pecan pie on the sill; Left for some poor white school kids,  said more than King ever will; Sir, Just Get Wilbur on the phone…Azalea trails will lead me home…

Bryan Daniels

Author: Bryan Daniels

I am a follower of Jesus, a husband to Jessica, and a father of three boys: Josiah, Gideon and Judah. I teach high school math as a job, read reformed theology as a hobby, and write this blog just for kicks. With the rest of my time I coach football and track.

One thought on “Tallahassee (Alzheimer’s Valentine)”

Leave a Reply

